International Co-operation Year (ICY)

The Preparatory Committee on the International Co-operation Year, established in 1962, presented a detailed report on its findings. Acting on this advice, the Assembly adopted unanimously a resolution [1907 (XVIII)] designating 1965, the twentieth year of the United Nations, as International Co-operation Year and establishing a committee to draw up and co-ordinate plans for ICY and to organize and prepare for suitable activities to be undertaken by the United Nations. All member states, the Specialized Agencies, the International Atomic Energy Agency, and the non-governmental organizations concerned were invited to formulate plans and programmes to promote the purposes of the Year. Canada, which was a member of the Preparatory Committee, was appointed on the new committee.

Working Methods of the Assembly

The Ad Hoc Committee on the Improvement of the Methods of Work of the General Assembly recommended a series of measures designed to streamline and facilitate the handling of complex and important questions by the Assembly. These recommendations were approved by unanimous resolution [1898 (XVIII)] and will be put into effect in future sessions. The testing of electrical voting equipment in the General Assembly Hall and in one or two committee rooms was also approved and the results of the experiment will be assessed at the nineteenth session of the Assembly.

Colonial Questions

During 1963 the Special Committee on the Situation with Regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples examined the progress achieved in some 26 territories and made a number of recommendations to the General Assembly. Those concerning Southern Rhodesia, South West Africa and the territories under Portuguese administration were examined, in the first instance, by the Fourth Committee. The other sections of the Special Committee's report were taken up directly in plenary and resulted in the adoption of seven resolutions, concerning the territories of Aden, Malta, Fiji, Northern Rhodesia, Nyasaland, Basutoland, Bechuanaland and Swaziland, and British Guiana.

In its final resolution on this subject [1956 (XVIII)], the Assembly requested the Special Committee to pursue its work in seeking the best ways and means for the immediate and total application of the Colonial Declaration to all territories which had not yet attained independence, and "deeply regretted" the refusal of certain administering powers to co-operate with the Committee and their continued disregard of the resolution of the General