OFFICIAL OPENING On January 19, 1989, Commissioner N.D. Inkster, Mr. J.M.F. Shoemaker, D/Commr. Corporate Management, the Director, Legal Services, Ms. C.F. Beckton, the CO, C/Supt. G.G. Leahy and the OC, Yarmouth Sub-Division,

Insp. T.W. Eggleston visited the new Meteghan Detachment. The official opening ceremonies took place on May 30, 1989, with Ms. Nadine Cooper-Mont, Deputy Solicitor General for Nova Scotia, performing the ribbon-cutting ceremonies.



(L-R) Standing: Insp. Egglestone, the President of the Chamber of Commerce Robert Thibault, the Président of the Fédération Acadienne Nouvelle-Écosse (FANE) Rev. Maurice Leblanc, the Secretary of the Municipality of Clare Delphius Comeau, and University of Ste-Anne rectors Omer Blinn and Gérald Boudreau. Sitting: C/Supt. Leahy, Commr. Inkster, D/Commr. Shoemaker, and Mrs. Beckton. Photo courtesy of Harold Robicheau



(L-R): Cst. C.M. Doucet, Public Works Canada Regional Director D. Samos, Clare warden Jean Mélanson, Alain Saulnier in the role of "Gabriel" for FANE, C/Supt. Leahy, Mrs. Cooper-Mont, Rev. Ulysse Doiron, Insp. Egglestone, Denise Lombard as "Évangéline" for FANE, and Cst. J.H.J.D. Turcotte.

Photo courtesy of Harold Robicheau