Gouk

Wood

Government Orders

Mr. Solomon: Mr. Speaker, I rise on the same point of order. I wish to inform the Speaker and the House that when this arrangement was made for the sake of speeding up the vote it was assumed that all members would remain in the House during the course of the speeding up of the vote.

I support the contention of the hon, member opposite that if this precedent is set it would be unfavourable and unacceptable to the NDP caucus.

Mr. Boudria: Mr. Speaker, I respectfully suggest that you take the vote row by row, as usual, on report stage Motion No. 2. Hopefully that will get the process started again.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Kilger): I just want to set the record straight if I misled any member of the House. I have no dispute whatsoever with the hon. member for York South-Weston, the hon. member for Regina-Lumsden or any other member with respect to the tradition of the House. I was simply trying to clear the air by saying that yes, the Chair assumes members are staying.

Unless we can actually verify the absence of someone clearly and definitely, obviously the best measure is to take the advice of the chief government whip and take the vote on Motion No. 2.

(The House divided on Motion No. 2, which was negatived on the following division:)

(Division No. 351)

YEAS

Members

Baker Althouse Caccia Easter Ianno McLaughlin Minna Riis Nunziata Robinson Simmons Solomon Taylor

Wells -15

NAYS

Members

Abbott Ablonczy Adams Alcock Assadourian Augustine Bélair Bélanger Rellehumeur Belleman Benoit Bernier (Beauce) Bertrand Bhaduria Blondin-Andrew Bodnar Bonin Breitkreuz (Yellowhead) Breitkreuz (Yorkton-Melville) Bridgman

Brown (Calgary Southeast/Sud-Est) Brushett Calder Bryden Campbell Caron Catterall Cohen Chatters Collenette Collins Comuzzi Copps Crawford Cowling de Savoye Culbert DeVillers Dhaliwal Dromisky Duhá Duhamel Dumas Dupuy Duncan

Eggleton English Ерр Fewchuk Finlay Fontana Fry Gaffney Gagliano Gallaway Gauthier Gerrard Gilmour Gray (Windsor West/Ouest)

Grey (Beaver River) Grose Grubel Guarnieri

Hanrahan Harper (Churchill) Harper (Simcoe Centre)

Harris Hart Harvard Haves Hermanson Hickey Hill (Macleod) Hoeppner Hopkins Iftody Irwin Jackson Jennings Johnston Jordan Kerpan Kraft Sloar Landry Lastewka Laurin

Lavigne (Beauharnois-Salaberry) LeBlanc (Cape/Cap-Breton Highlands-Canso)

Leroux (Richmond-Wolfe)

Leroux (Shefford) Loney

MacLellan (Cape/Cap-Breton—The Sydneys) MacDonald

Malhi Maloney Manley Marchi Marleau Mayfield McCormick McKinnon McLellan (Edmonton Northwest/Nord-Ouest) McTeague McWhinney Meredith

Milliken Mills (Broadview-Greenwood)

Mills (Red Deer) Mitchell Morrison Murphy Murray Vault Nunez O'Brien O'Reilly Pagtakhan Parrish Penson Peric Peterson Phinney

Picard (Drummond) Pickard (Essex-Kent)

Pillitteri Proud Ramsay Regan Rideout Ringma Rock Sauvageau Schmid Scott (Skeena) Serri Sheridan Silye Skoke Solberg Speller St-Laurent Stewart (Brant) Stewart (Northumberland) Strahl Thalheime Tobin Torsney Tremblay (Rimouski-Témiscouata) Vanclief Valeri Venne Volpe Walker Wavne Whelan Williams

PAIRED MEMBERS

Young-170

Anawak Asselin Bachand Bakopanos Bélisle Barnes Bernier (Gaspé) Bergeron Bernier (Mégantic-Compton-Stanstead) Bertrand Bouchard Brien Brown (Oakville-Milton) Canuel Cauchon Chamberlain Chan Chrétien (Frontenac) Crête Dalphond-Guiral