Government Orders

(Division No. 182)

YEAS

Members

Althouse Arseneault Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bélair Benjamin Black Boudria Caccia Clancy Dingwall Fisher Fontana Fulton Gauthier Harb Harvey (Edmonton East) Hopkins Karpoff Kilger (Stormont-Dundas) Laporte Lee Maheu Mills Nault Parker Pickard Prud'homme Riis Rompkey Stewart Taylor Waddell Whittaker

Anderson Attewell Bertrand Bjornson Blenkarn Bourgault Browes Casey Champagne (Champlain) Chartrand Cole Corbeil Côté DeBlois Dick Domm Epp Feltham Fontaine Gérin Greene Gustafson Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hicks Holtmann Hudon Jacques Kempling Landry Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) MacDonald (Rosedale) MacKay Marin

Angus Assad Barrett Bellemare Bevilacqua Blackburn (Brant) Butland Callbeck Crawford Finestone Flis Foster Gagliano Gray (Windsor West) Harvard Heap Kaplan Keyes Kristiansen LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) MacLaren McGuire Murphy Pagtakhan Peterson Proud Rideout Rohichaud Skelly (Comox-Alberni) Stupich Tohin Walker Young (Beaches-Woodbine)-66

NAYS

Members

Atkinson Belsher Bird Blackburn (Jonquière) Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Brightwell Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Chadwick Charest Clifford Collins Corbett Crosby (Halifax West) Della Noce Dobbie Edwards Fee Ferland Friesen Gibeau Guilbault Halliday Hawkes Hogue Horning Hughes Jourdenais Koury Langlois Layton MacDougall (Timiskaming) Malone Martin (Lincoln)

Maver Masse McCreath McDougall (St. Paul's) Monteith Nowlan Oherle Porter Plourde Redway Reid Reime Ricard Richardson Roy-Arcelin Schneider Shields Siddon Sobeski Soetens Sparrow Tardif Thacker Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Venne Vankoughnet Vien Vincent Weiner Wilbee White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

McDermid McChright Nicholson Oberle Porter Reid Rkicard Robitaille St-Julien Scott (Hamilton – Wentworth) Siddon Scott (Hamilton – Wentworth) Siddon Soetens Stevenson Tétreault Thompson Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Van de Walle Venne Vincent Wenman Wilbee Iboia)

Worthy-118 • (1730)

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion lost. Resuming debate with the hon. member for Calgary West.

Mr. Jim Hawkes (Calgary West): Madam Speaker, on such short notice—

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): On a point of order, the hon. member for Edmonton East.

Mr. Harvey (Edmonton East:) Madam Speaker, I believe that when the hon. member for Okanagan—Similkameen—Merritt moved his motion on which we have just now voted, he did so at the conclusion of his 20 minutes of remarks and thus there remains a 10 minute question and comment period on the hon. member's remarks.

Mr. Hawkes: Madam Speaker, I believe the hon. member concluded his speech with a motion which was non-debatable and immediately votable which I think took care of the remaining time. In any event, I was recognized for the commencement of debate. I think it is impossible to rescind that decision without unanimous consent of the House.

• (1735)

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): The point of order put forward by the hon. member for Edmonton East leaves the Chair in quite a quandary.

When the hon. member for Okanagan—Similkameen—Merritt concluded his intervention to the House by proposing that the House do now adjourn, the Chair concluded that the hon. member certainly did not wish to continue debating. Henceforth, once the motion was