Territorial Heads of Government

Don Morin Premier of the Northwest Territories

Don Morin was born in 1954 in Hay River, Northwest Territories. In 1976, he moved to Fort Resolution where he operated his own construction business. Mr. Morin represented the Dene Nation on the Great Slave Lake Advisory Committee and was a member of the Deninoo Community Council in Fort Resolution.

Mr. Morin was first elected to the legislative assembly in the general election of October 1987.

During the 11th legislative assembly, he served as deputy chairman of the Standing Committee on Agencies, Boards and Commissions; co-chairman of the Special Committee on the Northern Economy; and a member of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts. Mr. Morin was also chairman of caucus.

Appointed to cabinet in 1991 during the 12th legislative assembly, Mr. Morin held two portfolios: Public Works and Services and the Housing Corporation of the Northwest Territories. He was also Minister responsible for the Forest Fire Management Program and chairman of the Special Committee on Housing.

Mr. Morin was elected Premier by the Leadership Committee of the Legislative Assembly in November 1995.

Mr. Morin and his wife, Gladys, have four sons.