BACKGROUND

At an important summit meeting of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE)¹ on 19 November 1990, in Paris, the thirty-four members of the CSCE signed the *Vienna Document 1990*, a new agreement on confidence- and security-building measures (CSBMs) in Europe. On the same day, the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (CFE Treaty) was signed by the twenty-two members of the CSCE, who are also members of NATO and the Warsaw Pact.

The development of CSBMs began in Helsinki in 1973 when the then thirty-five members of the CSCE began negotiations on what became the Helsinki Final Act in August 1975. The Final Act dealt with three "baskets" of issues: security questions in Europe; cooperation in economics, science and technology, and the environment; and cooperation in humanitarian and other fields. In the security basket, states agreed to provide twenty-one days notice of all major military manoeuvres involving 25,000 or more troops. States also agreed that observers from other states could be invited to observe military manoeuvres. Provisions were included to enable the further development of "Confidence-Building Measures" such as these. A review conference was held in Belgrade from autumn 1977 to spring 1978 but no significant advances were made.

At the second review conference of the Helsinki Final Act, held in Madrid from November 1980 to September 1983, states agreed on a mandate for negotiations on CSBMs. The resulting negotiations were held in Stockholm between January 1984 and September 1986, under the cumbersome title of Conference on Confidence- and Security-Building Measures and Disarmament in Europe (CCSBMDE). In its shortened version, the talks were also known as Conference on Disarmament in Europe, or CDE.²

These negotiations resulted in what is known as the Stockholm Document, in September 1986. It was concluded just as the changes in the Soviet Union were beginning to appear. Soviet agreement to a number of the provisions, and the extent of the provisions themselves, were considered an important step forward. The Stockholm Document reflects agreement in six principal areas:

¹The members include: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, the Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, San Marino, the Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and Yugoslavia.

²See previous issues of *The Guide*, especially 1987, for a more detailed examination of these negotiations.

³Formally, Document of the Stockholm Conference on Confidence- and Security-Building Measures and Disarmament in Europe Convened in Accordance with the Relevant Provisions of the Concluding Document of the Madrid Meeting of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1986.