Finlay

Government Orders

[English]

Mr. Hermanson: Madam Speaker, I rise on a point of order. to make a request of the Chair and to make a comment.

This House has been recognized as being one without precedent by the fact that there are two new parties and 200 new members in this House. In light of time allocation being imposed upon this House, the reputation of all members is at stake.

The vote on second reading of Bill C-18, an act to suspend the operation of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, is being restricted and, therefore, it will reflect-

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): I am sorry. I do not feel that is a point of order.

Mr. Hermanson: Madam Speaker, I was in the process of trying to lay some foundation for a request I would like to make to the Chair. Do I not have-

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): I am afraid you were in the process of debate, sir. Would you please get to your point.

Some hon. members: Put the question.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): A motion has been moved and I am obliged to put the question to the House. This is not a debatable motion.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon. members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): In my opinion the yeas

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Maheu): Call in the members.

(The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:)

(Division No. 23)

YEAS

Members

Adams Allmand Anderson Assad Augustine Bakopanos Beaumier Bethel

Bhaduria

Alcock Anawak Arseneault Assadourian

Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre)

Barnes Bellemare Bertrand Bevilacqua Blondin-Andrew Rodnar Bonin

Brown (Oakville-Milton) Roudria

Brushett Bryden Rélair Caccia Calder Campbell Cannis Catterall Chamberlain Clancy Collenette Cohen Collins Cowling Culbert Crawford Dhaliwal Dingwall Duhamel Dromisky Dupuy Easter English Eggleton Fewchuk Finestone

Gaffney Fry Gagnon (Bonaventure—Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Gagliano

Fontana

Gallaway Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier)

Gerrard Godfrey Graham Goodale Gray (Windsor West) Guarnieri Harper (Churchill) Harb Hickey Harvard Hubbard Iftody Irwin Jackson Keyes Kraft Sloan

LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) Lavigne (Verdun-Saint-Paul)

MacAulay Maloney MacLellan (Cape Breton-The Sydneys)

Martin (LaSalle-Émard) McCormick Massé McKinnon McTeague

McWhinney Mifflin Mills (Broadview-Greenwood) Mitchell Murphy Murray Nault O'Reilly Quellet Pagtakhan Payne Peters Peterson Phinney Pillitteri Proud Regan Reed

Richardson Rideout Ringuette-Maltais Robichaud Scott (Fredericton-York Sunbury)

Rompkey Shepherd Serré Sheridan Simmons Skoke Speller Steckle

St. Denis Stewart (Brant) Stewart (Northumberland)

Szabo Telegdi Terrana Vanclief Verran Volpe Walker Wells Whelan Wood Young Zed-140

NAYS

Members

Asselin Althouse Bellehumeur Bachand Bernier (Gaspé) Bernier (Mégantic-Compton-Stanstead) Blaikie

Brown (Calgary Southeast) Bélisle Canuel Chatters Chrétien (Frontenac) Cummins Crête de Jong Daviault Deshaies de Savoye

Dubé

Duceppe