Mrs. McDougall said, "This is a very important step for APEC. Canada welcomes the participation of China, Hong Kong and Taiwan in APEC discussions as an historic step toward bringing more than one-fifth of the world's population into the mainstream of world economic co-operation."

The meeting will also provide Canada with an opportunity to encourage a more extensive dialogue on the economic trends and issues which underlie the growing integration of APEC economies.

The APEC meeting will be attended by Foreign and Trade Ministers from Canada, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Korea, and the six-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) -- Thailand, Malaysia, the Philippines, Indonesia, Singapore and Brunei.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874