light hand, and, being a Britisher, with becoming diffidence. The government is by a confederation of sovereign States in federal bond for imperial purposes, each State being sovereign in its own domain to the extent both of making and administering local laws. At the head of the confederation is the President, in whom the executive is vested, and whose period of office is for four years. He, together with the Vice-President, is chosen by electors appointed by each State to the number of the representation which each has in Congress. The President is commander-in-chief of the The Senate has large ruling powers. It ratifies or rejects national forces. treaties made by the President with foreign powers, a two-thirds majority being required for ratification. It has also the power of confirming or rejecting all presidential appointments to office, and in case of removal from office or disqualification, it constitutes a high court of impeachment. The Vice-President is, ex officio, head of the Senate. All senators must have reached the age of thirty, and be residents in the States from which they are chosen.

The House of Representatives, numbering 358 members, is elected every second year by the vote of citizens who, according to the laws of their respective States, are qualified to vote. These, in general, are all male citizens over twenty-one years of age. Representatives must be not less than twenty-five years of age. All bills pass through both Houses, and, before becoming law, are presented to the President. If a bill be not approved by him he may return it, with his objections, to the House in which it originated; but if, upon fresh consideration, the bill be passed by a two-thirds majority in both Houses, it becomes a law. The judicial power is confided to a Supreme Court appointed for life, with power to decide all the disputes between States and to interpret the Constitution. There is no religious test for any office of State, and education is free and practically universal.

France is governed by a President, Senate, and Chamber of Deputies. The President is elected by the Senate and Chamber of Deputies for seven He concludes treaties with foreign powers, but requires the assent of both Chambers to declare war. The Chamber of Deputies now consists of 584 members, who have been elected from as many arrondissements on the basis of universal suffrage. All bills are first canvassed in committee before being introduced into either House, and may be introduced either by the ministry, or by the President through the ministry, or by private members. The Senate is composed of 300 members, elected for nine years by an electoral body composed of municipal councils, deputies, councillorsgeneral, and district councillors. The Senate has the right, as well as the Chamber of Deputies, of initiating and framing laws; but all laws relating to finance must first be presented to and voted by the Chamber of Deputies. The Senate acts as a Court of High Treason, before which even the President and ministers may be arraigned. The ministry is appointed by the President, and forms a council of ten ministers who hold