## The Order of Canada

Countries have a natural impulse to honour their notable citizens. Great Britain, for example, ennobles some persons and their descendants in perpetuity, makes some lords for life, knights others and receives a large number into orders of merit. In the great days of the empire, Canadians received British honours up and down the line, and there are still some with inherited titles — Charles John Tottenham of Port Hope, Ontario, for example, is the Most Honourable, the Eighth Marquess of Elv.

When Prime Minister Robert Borden took office in 1911, the number of titled Canadians went up sharply, and Mr. Borden himself became a Knight of the Grand Cross of St. Michael and St. George in 1914.

Popular sentiment against titles grew, and in 1918 W. F. Nickle, a private member, moved in the House of Commons that no more Canadians be given hereditary ones. The motion was adopted and then — in spite of Sir Robert's resistance — was amended to bar the granting of non-hereditary titles as well.

In 1933 and 1934 Prime Minister Richard Bennett nominated a number of Canadians for titular honours anyway. William Lyon Mackenzie King, who succeeded him, revived the ban, but there was some confusion as to whether it should include non-titled honours. A committee was appointed, and in 1945 it recommended that non-titled British honours be accepted and that Canada institute its own order of merit. Canadian citizens may still accept non-titled honours from Great Britain and from other countries as well, though the approval of the Canadian government is usually required.

In 1967 the government established the Order of Canada, which originally was intended to recognize acts of courage as well as acts of service, but in 1972 the category for courage was dropped and the Order of Military Merit and three civilian decorations — the Cross of Valour, the Star of Courage and the Medal of Bravery — were created instead. Anyone can nominate Order of Canada members, and between 400 and 500 persons are suggested each year. A blue-ribbon committee of high public, cultural and academic office holders, headed by the Chief Justice, then selects 120 or more to be made Companions, Officers or Members. Since the total number of Companions (CC) is limited to 150, old Companions must die before new ones can be named. Forty new officers (OC) and eighty members (CM) are added each year. It is to the Order of Canada, a society both democratic and exclusive, that this issue of CANADA TODAY/D'AU-IOURD'HUI is devoted.

Ottawa, December 21, 1979 — Sixty Canadians have been appointed to the Order of Canada, Canada's highest distinction, by the Governor General, His Excellency The Right Honourable Edward Schreyer, Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order.



## APPOINTMENTS TO THE COMPANION OF THE ORDER December 1979

HITSCHMANOVA, Dr. Lotta STEPHENSON, Sir William S.



## APPOINTMENTS TO THE OFFICER OF THE ORDER

ARÈS, The Reverend Father Richard BELL, Dr. R. Gordon BEST, Dr. Carrie CHARBONNEAU, Mr. Roger DE COSTER, Mr. Robert FAIRCLOUGH, The Honourable Ellen Louks FINN, Mr. Gilbert FRUM, Mrs. Barbara GARANT, Mr. Serge GERSTEIN, Dr. Reva GRÉGOIRE, His Excellency Mgr. Paul LAPOINTE, Colonel the Honourable Hugues MILLS, Mr. John Vernor PINSENT, Dr. Gordon RENOUF, Mr. Harold A. STEWART, Dr. Robert W. VIAU, Dr. Jacques WATTS, Dr. Ronald L. WILLIAMS, Mr. Percy



## APPOINTMENTS TO THE MEMBER OF THE ORDER

BURNS, Mr. Charles F.W.
BUTTERS, Her Worship M. Isabelle
COHEN, Dr. H. Reuben
CONWAY, The Reverend
Father J. Harold
COSTANTINI, Mrs. Margaret M.
CRAIG, Mr. Albert M.
DELAMONT, Mr. Arthur W.
DION, Dr. Denys
DUBUC, Mr. Joseph-Marie Antoine
DUROCHER-JUTRAS, Mrs. Flore
FIELDING, Mr. Cecil
GRAHAM, Dr. James H.
GREEN, Mr. John
HINDS, Miss Evelyn Margery
HOGG, Mrs. Mary Eileen
JENKINS, Mr. Ferguson
JOHNSTON, Mrs. Marjorie A.
LAKING, Dr. Leslie
LEDUC, Mr. Roland
MACDONNELL, Mr. Peter L.P.
MACDONALD, Miss Mary Elizabeth
MOTUT, Professor Roger
NICHOLAS, Miss Cynthia Maria
PALLASCIO-MORIN,
Mr. Jean-Louis Ernest
PARISEAULT, Mr. Philippe
PARKER, Dr. F. Thomas
POWERS, Dr. Annie
QUINTAL, Father Emmanuel
ROSE, Mrs. Sheila
RUMMEL, Miss Elizabeth
SHENKMAN, Ms. Belle
SMITH, Mr. Ascher I.
STANGL, Mr. Joseph C.
STARK, Miss Ethel
SWINTON, Professor George
VIAU, Mrs. Suzanne
VINCENT, Mgr. Maurice
ZADRA, Dr. Modesto C.
ZSOLNAY, Dr. Nicholas M.

Each honoured person receives a badge, a miniature, an undress ribbon and a lapel badge. The first may be worn on most formal occasions, the miniature on less formal ones, the ribbon on even less formal ones and the lapel badge any old time.