

OF THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY OF NEWFOUNDLAND,

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 14, 1848.

Begun and holden at Saint John's on Thursday the Fourteenth Day of December, in the Year of Our Lord One Thousand Eight Hundred and. Forty Eight, and in the Twelfth Year of the Reign of our Sovereign Lady Victoria by the Grace of God of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, Queen, Defender of the Faith.

His Excellency Sir Gaspard LeMarchant, Governor, having by his Proclamation, bearing date the 22nd Day of November last, summoned and called together the Assembly of this Island, and appointed the same to meet at Saint John's on the 14th Day of December aforesaid. The following are the names of the persons returned by the Returning Officers of the several electoral Districts to represent the said Districts in General Assembly—Viz:

Opening of the House, pursuant to Proclamation.

Members returned for the several Electoral Districts,

District of St. John's—John Kent, Lawrence O'Brien, and Robert John Parsons, Esquires,

District of Conception Buy—James Luke Prendergast, Edmund Han-RAHAN, NICHOLAS MULLOY, and RICHARD RANKIN, Esquires.

District of Ferryland—Peter Winser, Esquire.

District of Placentia and St. Mary's—Ambrose Shea, and John Delaner, Esquires.

District of Burin-Joshua George Falle, Esquire.

District of Fortune Bay-Hugh William Hoyles, Esquire,

District of Trinity Bay-THOMAS BULLEY JOB, Esquire,