Mr. anderson



PRESS RELEASE

INFORMATION DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS • OTTAWA - CANADA

<u>NO. 81</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 12, 1949.

The Department of External Affairs announced today that another agreement has been made, this time with Luxembourg, enabling Canadian travellers to visit an increasing number of Western European countries without visas.

Canadian citizens holding valid Canadian passports may now visit Switzerland, Sweden and Denmark without visas for periods of three months and Belgium and Luxembourg, under the same conditions, for periods of two months.

Negotiations are under way with other countries of Western Europe which may result in similar relaxation of the entrance requirements for Canadian travellers.