IV

THE COUNCILS, THE COURT AND THE SECRETARIAT

Security Council

Nineteen sixty-six was the Security Council's first year of operation with the expanded membership of 15 instead of 11 decided upon at the eighteenth session of the General Assembly. The permanent members, whose concurrence is required for non-procedural decisions, are the U.S.A., the U.S.S.R., Britain, France and China. Non-permanent members of the Council in 1966 were Jordan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Uganda and Uruguay, whose terms ended on December 31, 1966, and Argentina, Bulgaria, Japan, Mali and Nigeria, which continue to serve in 1967. On November 11, 1966, the General Assembly elected Canada, with Brazil, Denmark, Ethiopia and India, to the Council for 1967-68. Canada last served on the Council in 1958-59.

There was no change in the functions of the Council, which continues to be the UN organ primarily responsible for the maintenance of international peace and security; these functions are divided mainly between the pacific settlement of disputes and action with respect to threats to the peace, breaches of the peace and acts of aggression.

The Security Council held 70 meetings in 1966 compared to 81 meetings in 1965. Almost half the meetings (28) were devoted to the question of Palestine (complaints by Syria, Israel and Jordan regarding border incidents). Rhodesia was discussed at 18 meetings.

Vietnam

During 1966, there was no abatement of the dangerous tensions flowing from the continuing war in Vietnam but, despite world-wide concern, the members of the Security Council were unable to find a basis for dealing with the problem.

¹ With the expansion of the Council, decisions require nine affirmative votes, including the concurring votes of the five permanent members on non-procedural questions.