their position concerning the existence of the Committee, on the ground that the Charter does not provide for a systematic examination and criticism by a special body of the information transmitted. In an effort to find a compromise between the position of those advocating permanency and that of the administering states, a majority, including Canada, accepted the third alternative, which would provide for automatic continuation of the Committee on Information at the end of a three-year period unless the Assembly decided otherwise. The administering states voted against this resolution in the Trusteeship Committee and in plenary session the United Kingdom Delegate expressed the view that the resolution had in effect made the Committee on Information a permanent organ of the United Nations. France and Belgium joined the United Kingdom in stating that, unless the resolution were changed, they would refuse to co-operate with the Committee. As a result of this strong opposition, the clause providing for the automatic continuation of the Committee after the first three-year period failed to receive a two-thirds majority and the resolution finally approved by a vote of 53 in favour (including Canada), 2 against, with 3 abstentions, simply continued the Committee on the same basis for a further three-year period. The Canadian Delegation, believing that the Committee performs a most useful function in relieving the Trusteeship Committee from the task of digesting and assessing information, supported the original resolution as the best possible compromise. Later events, however, indicated not only the strong opposition of the administering states but also a tendency on the part of the critics of the administering authorities to enlarge the scope of the Committee's work. For this reason, Canada voted in plenary session against the automatic continuation of the Committee. The composition of the Committee for 1952-53 is eight administering states (Australia, Belgium, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States) and eight non-administering states (Brazil, China, Cuba, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Pakistan).

Participation of Non-self-governing Territories in the Work of the Committee on Information

The Committee on Information had been asked by the sixth session of the Assembly to examine the possibility of associating the non-self-governing territories more closely with the work of the Committee. The Committee was unable to agree on the manner in which this might be done. The Trusteeship Committee discussion of this item centred on a resolution submitted by India, Burma, Indonesia and Pakistan. The resolution included suggestions for participation which had already been inconclusively debated in the Committee on Information and in addition invited the administering members to obtain the comments of the local legislative bodies of the non-self-governing territories on the Committee's work. The resolution also called for a further study by the Committee on Information of ways and means by which inhabitants of territories which have attained a wide measure of responsibility for their internal affairs could be directly associated in the Committee's discus-