## How the British Empire is Governed.

1. The British Isles. — The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (including England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales) a monarchy, with responsible government, i. e., the sovereign acts by the advice of ministers who hold office as long as they retain the confidence of the people's representatives in parliament. The parliament of the United Kingdom, consisting of the crown, the house of lords and the house of commons, is the supreme authority of the British Empire.

The Isle of Man, a dependency with representative but not responsible government, i. e., the people by their representatives in the legislature, have a voice in making laws; but the executive officers (like those in the United States of America) are not responsible to the representatives of the people. The Manx parliament, called the court of Tynwald, contains an elective branch, the house of keys, which is one of the most ancient legislative assemblies in the world.

The Channel Islands, representative dependencies of England, having two local legislatures—one for Jersey, called the States of Jersey, and one for the other

islands, called the States of Guernsey.

2. The British East Indies.—British India (including Bengal, Madras, Bombay, Further India and the Feudatory States) an empire, governed by a viceroy acting under the secretary of state for India, and a legislative council appointed by the Queen. (A colony under such non-representative government is called a crown colony, but India cannot properly be classed as a colony). It is divided into thirteen local governments and administrations, some of which have legislative councils appointed by the Queen, and a number of native states under British protection, governed by native princes with the assistance of English agents. The East India Company, from whose trading posts our present Indian empire has developed, was chartered by Queen Elizabeth in 1600.

Ceylon, a crown colony, with a governor and legislative council for the whole island. It is divided into nine provinces, the local affairs of which are administered by government agents.

The Straits Settlements, a crown colony.

British North Borneo, a protectorate, the government of which is administered by a chartered company.

Brunei, a native state under British protection.

Labuan, a crown colony.

Sarawak, a protectorate, governed by a rajah and native officials.

3. British North America.—Newfoundland, a colony with responsible government. This is the oldest of British colonies; its existence as such dating from about 1620, though its first governor was not appointed until 1728.

The Dominion of Canada, a federal dependency, with responsible government. Each of the seven provinces of the dominion has responsible local government, and there is a representative local government for the North west Territories.

The Bermudas, a colony with representative but not responsible government, (their form of government, therefore, resembling that which prevails in the United States, rather than our own).

4. The British West Indies (including colonies on the mainland). The Bahamas, a colony with representative but not responsible government.

Jamaica and its dependencies, a crown colony.

British Honduras, a crown colony.

The Leeward Islands, a federal colony with representative government in part. There are five presidencies in the federation (Antigua, St. Christopher, Dominica, Montserrat and Virgin Islands), two of which have their local governments partly representative.

The Windward Islands, a federation with partly representative government. There are three local governments (Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent), the legislatures of which are not elective.

Barbadoes, representative but not responsible gov-

ernment

Trinidad and Tobago, a crown colony.

British Guiana, representative but not responsible government.

5. The British Possessions in South Africa (probably soon to be placed under a viceroy).

Cape Colony, responsible government.

Natal, responsible goverement. Basutoland, a crown colony. Bechuanaland, a crown colony.

The Orange River District (recently the Orange Free State) now under military government so far as the

British occupation extends.

The Transvaal Territory, now nominally a republic, subject to British control in its foreign relations. Having forfeited its treaty rights by declaring war and invading the British provinces, it will be placed under British military rule when the armies now moving against it reach their destination.

British Zambesia, or Rhodesia, a protectorate, the affairs of which are administered by the British South

Africa Company.

Nyassaland, a protectorate under an imperial commissioner. The affairs of the territory beyond, so far as it is under British influence (British Central Africa), are administered by the British South Africa Company.

6. Australasia.—Australia, soon (if the bill now under consideration passes the imperial parliament) to be united in a federation, with responsible government, called the commonwealth of Australia. The several provinces (New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Tasmania) will retain their present form of representative and responsible government, as in the provinces of Canada.

Western Australia, with responsible government, not at present to be included in the Australian federation.

New Zealand, a colony with responsible government. British New Guinea, a dependency of Queensland, governed as a crown colony.

The Fiji Islands, a crown colony.

The Cook Islands, a dependency of New Zealand,

with partly representative government.

The Southern Solomon Islands, Tonga Islands, and other groups in the Western Pacific, British protectorates, most of them more or less subject to the government of New Zealand.

7. British West Africa.

The Gold Coast, a crown colony.