recruitment, and vocation. The Department of Education was reorganized in 1971, leading to major changes in departmental structure, including: elimination of the position of Superintendent of Education; transfer of the duties of the Superintendent to the Deputy Minister; and realignment of the duties of the various Assistant Superintendents in positions to be known as Superintendents of Educational Services. Under one of these, the Superintendent of Post-Secondary Services, a new position has been created called Co-ordinator of Post-Secondary Services.

In 1970 amendments to the Public Schools Act categorized all community colleges as comprehensive regional colleges with university-parallel courses, and strengthened, at the same time, province-wide co-ordination of post-secondary school and adult education. There are ten regional colleges, one city college, two private colleges and one institute of technology.

A major development for the 1970s, based on the report of the Commission on the Future of the Faculty of Education, is the revision of the academic program and administrative structure of the University of British Columbia's Faculty of Education. Among the 85 recommendations are such innovations as: adoption of a single five-year bachelor of education program; introduction of the "teaching associate" idea; a new master of pedagogy degree; and student participation in decision-making at the operational level.

The Yukon Department of Education uses the British Columbia curriculum and pattern of school organization. The territory is not classified as a province, and its education policy is controlled by a series of school ordinances issued by the Commissioner of the Yukon Territory. Such ordinances account for teachers' certificates, classification of schools, election of school trustees, general policy (school year, school hours, holidays, language of instruction -- mainly English, religious instruction, kindergartens, etc.), Department of Education examiners, adult occupational training, apprentice training, vocational rehabilitation of disabled persons, fitness and amateur sport regulations, students' grants, and others. Under the Commissioner, education policy is administered by a Department of Education comprising a Superintendent of Schools, two Assistant Superintendents, and three other professional officials.

In the Northwest Territories, which includes the Districts of Mackenzie, Franklin and Keewatin, the aim of the territorial government is to provide educational opportunities for northern residents equivalent to those opportunities enjoyed by fellow citizens in Southern Canada.(4)

<sup>(4)</sup> For the addresses of provincial and territorial education departments, see Appendix II.