end all nuclear testing. It will also provide the occasion and stimulus for all governments to review their positions on the test ban and perhaps renew

their support for it.

Moreover, if such amendments are approved by a substantial majority of parties to the treaty at the amending conference, that will be an event of great political significance. It will certainly create very strong pressures on the nuclear powers, not only internationally but more important, domestically, not to ignore the wishes of the parties to the treaty. Even if these pressures are insufficient to move the

present governments in the US and UK, they may induce a succeeding government in each of the two countries to proceed to approve and ratify such amendments or at least to resume negotiations for a CTB treaty. If, despite the anticipated domestic and international pressures, they persist in refusing to accept such amendments or to negotiate and agree on a CTB treaty, that would bode very ill for the continued viability and future of the Non-Proliferation Treaty. So long as all the three nuclear parties fail to agree on a Comprehensive Test Ban, the Non-Proliferation Treaty will remain in jeopardy.

APPENDIX A

STATES PARTY TO THE NON-PROLIFERATION TREATY:

*Afghanistan Antigua and Barbuda *Australia *Austria Bahamas *Bangladesh Barbados *Belgium Benin *Bhutan *Bolivia Botswana *Brunei Darussalam *Bulgaria Burkina Faso *Burundi *Cameroon *Canada Cape Verde Central African Republic Congo Costa Rica *Cyprus *Czechoslovakia Democratic Kampuchea *Democratic Yemen *Denmark Dominica Dominican Republic *Ecuador *Egypt El Salvador **Equatorial Guinea** *Ethiopia Fiji *Finland Gabon Gambia *German Democratic Republic *Germany, Federal Republic of *Ghana

*Greece

Grenada

*Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Haiti *Holy See *Honduras *Hungary *Iceland *Indonesia *Iran *Iraq *Ireland *Italy *Ivory Coast Jamaica *Japan *Jordan *Kenya Kiribati Lao People's Democratic Republic *Lebanon Lesotho Liberia *Libva *Liechtenstein *Luxembourg Madagascar *Malaysia *Maldives Mali *Malta *Mauritius *Mexico *Mongolia *Morocco *Naura *Nepal *Netherlands *New Zealand *Nicaragua *Nigeria *Norway *Panama *Papua New Guinea

Paraguay *Peru *Philippines *Poland *Portugal *Republic of Korea *Romania *Rwanda Saint Christopher and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa *San Marino Sao Tome and Principe *Senegal *Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands *Somalia *Sri Lanka *Sudan Suriname Swaziland *Sweden *Switzerland *Syria *Thailand Togo Tonga *Tunisia *Turkey Tuvalu *Uganda *USSR *United Kingdom *United States *Uruguay *Venezuela *Vietnam *Yugoslavia *Zaire

The following four countries have signed but so far not ratified the Treaty: Colombia, Kuwait, Trinidad and Tobago, and Yemen Arab Republic.

^{*} indicates participation in the 1985 Review Conference in which 86 of the 130 parties participated.