Trust Territories of the Pacific

At its eighteenth session the Council examined the reports of the United Nations mission which visited the trust territories in the Pacific, the observations made by Australia concerning the mission's report on Nauru, and also examined the observations submitted by the United States, Australia and New Zealand on the mission's reports concerning the trust territory of the Pacific Islands (Marianas, Marshalls, and Carolinas, which are under United States administration), East New Guinea (under Australian administration), and Western Samoa (under New Zealand administration).

Report of the Trusteeship Council

The Trusteeship Council's tenth annual report to the General Assembly covered all the work it had done at its seventeenth and eighteenth sessions; this report was considered by the Fourth (Trusteeship) Committee of the General Assembly. The report was the subject of a moderate debate, followed by the adoption of a resolution noting the document submitted by the Council and recommending that the latter, at its nineteenth session, should take into account the comments and suggestions made at the eleventh session of the General Assembly. During the debate on this resolution, some delegations pointed out that little political progress was apparent in the trust territories as a whole and the Soviet bloc introduced a resolution urging that all trust territories be granted their independence or self government at dates fixed in advance. This resolution was passed by the Fourth Committee and later by the General Assembly in plenary session by a vote of 45 in favour, 14 against (including Canada), with 16 abstentions. Canada voted against this resolution in accordance with its practice of opposing resolutions which seemed likely to prove impractical to apply or raise false hopes among the indigenous populations of the trust territories.

In addition to considering the Trusteeship Council's annual report, the Fourth Committee also heard requests from petitioners from Togoland, Tanganyika and the Cameroons. Canada opposed the hearing by the Fourth Committee of certain petitioners from French-administered Cameroons who belonged to organizations which France had declared subversive. However, the Fourth Committee voted in favour of hearing these petitioners, some of whom presented their grievances in very forceful terms. Several of the would-be petitioners were refused travel documents by the French administration of the Cameroons. Among the other matters dealt with by the Fourth Committee was the fact that no applications were made for most of the educational scholarships offered to students in the trust territories; in view of the great need of these territories for trained civil service personnel, a resolution was adopted recommending that the administering states take steps to see that these scholarships are made known, applied for, and awarded.

South West Africa

The United Nations has attempted unsuccessfully for many years to persuade the Union of South Africa to accept a trusteeship agreement for South West Africa. In 1950 the International Court of Justice gave the

¹General Assembly resolution 1064(XI) of February 26, 1957.