The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, today announced that the Honourable Jack Davis, Minister of the Environment and Fisheries, would lead the Canadian Delegation to the United Nations Conference on the Human Environment which will be held in Stockholm June 5-16.

The Stockholm Conference, to which something over a hundred states are expected to send representatives, will be the first large scale intergovernmental conference to be concerned with the entire range of environmental problems. It was established by the General Assembly in December, 1969 with a mandate:

"to provide a framework for the comprehensive consideration within the United Nations of the problems of human environment in order to focus the attention of governments and pulic opinion on the importance and urgency of this question and also to identify those aspects of it that can only or best be solved through international co-operation and agreement".

The Vice-Chairman of the Canadian Delegation will be the Honourable Senator Alan Macnaughton, P.C. The other Delegates will be the Honourable Dr. Victor Goldbloom, M.N.A., Minister of State Responsible for the Quality of the Environment, Province of Quebec; the Honourable William Yurko, M.L.A., Minister of the Environment, Province of Alberta; Mr. Eymard Corbin, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of the Environment; and Mr. Paul Tremblay, Associate Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs. The Alternate Delegates are: the Honourable Edward Schreyer, Premier of Manitoba; the Honourable Glen Bagnell, M.L.A., Minister of Mines, Province of Nova Scotia; the Honourable G. W. M. Cockburn, M.L.A., Minister of Fisheries and Environment, Province of New Brunswick; the Honourable William C. Doody, M.L.A., Kinister of Mines, Agriculture and Resources, Province of Newfoundland; and Mr. R. F. Shaw, Deputy Minister, Department of the Environment.

The Delegation will be assisted by advisers from the federal and provincial government services and by the following representatives of national non-governmental organizations: IIr. James MacDonald, Canadian Labour Congress; Mr. George Manuel, National Indian Brotherhood; Mr. David McCreery, National Youth Conference; Miss C. N. Norminton, Canadian Federation of Agriculture; and Mr. Louis Renzoni, Mining Association of Canada.