ROYAL CANADIAN MOUNTED POLICE

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), with 12,000 members, are responsible for enforcement of all Federal statutes throughout Canada and for national security. It is the only police force in the Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory and enforces the Criminal Code of Canada and provincial statutes in eight provinces. (Ontario and Quebec have their own provincial police forces.)

The RCMP began as the North-West Mounted Police in 1873 (later Royal NWMP) and was formed to serve in the 300,000 square miles of the Canadian northwest.

In July 1874, ten months after Prime Minister. Sir John A. Macdonald announced formation of the NWMP, 300 recruits set off to march 1000 miles in four months from south of Winnipeg to Old Man's River, southern Alberta, where they built Fort Macleod. This "March West" has become legendary and put the scarlet uniform of the Force on the map of the west.

The first Musical Ride and the first RCMP Band were seen and heard in 1876, at Swan River, North-West Territories. Today a troop of 32 men on black horses continues to delight audiences.

In 1920, the RCMP received its present name and headquarters were transferred from Regina to Ottawa. In the 1930's marine and air divisions were set up as well as the first of five existing crime detection laboratories.

The RCMP schooner, St. Roch, was the first vessel to sail the eastward route through the Northwest Passage, the first to sail a round trip through the