## International Court of Justice

The Court consists of 15 judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, voting independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for re-election.

The elections are conducted on the basis of a staggered election system which calls for the holding of regular elections every three years to fill the five vacancies that automatically occur under this system at these intervals. The next such election will be held in the autumn of 1963. The Court elects its own president and vice-president for three years and they may be re-elected.

The present judges of the Court with the year their term of office ends are as

follows:

interest in sent it my opinions	Country	Date of Expiry
Mr. B. Winiarski, President <sup>1</sup>	Poland	5 Feb 1967
Mr. R. J. Alfaro, Vice-President <sup>2</sup>	Panama	5 Feb 1964
J. Basdevant	France	5 Feb 1964
A. H. Badawi	United Arab Republic	5 Feb 1967
L. M. Moreno Quintana	Argentina	5 Feb 1964
R. Cordova	Mexico	5 Feb 1964
V. K. Wellington Koo	China	5 Feb 1967
J. Spiropoulos	Greece	5 Feb 1967
Sir Percy Spender	Australia	5 Feb 1967
Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice	Great Britain	5 Feb 1964
V. M. Koretsky	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics	5 Feb 1970
K. Tanaka	Japan	5 Feb 1970
J. L. Bustamante y Rivero	Peru	5 Feb 1970
Ph. C. Jessup	United States of	
	America	5 Feb 1970
G. Morelli	Italy	5 Feb 1970

## **Disarmament Commission**

Membership: All members of the United Nations.

The Commission as established in 1952 by Assembly Resolution 502 (VI) consisted of one representative of each member of the Security Council, and Canada, when Canada was not a member of the Security Council. Originally set up "under the Security Council" (see "Canada and the United Nations 1951-52") it was directed, primarily, to prepare proposals to be embodied in a draft treaty (or treaties) for the regulation, limitation and balanced reduction of all armed forces and all armaments, for the elimination of all major weapons adaptable to mass destruction, and for effective international control of atomic energy to ensure the prohibition of atomic weapons and the use of atomic energy for peaceful purposes only.

Assembly Resolution 1150 (XII) of 19 November 1957 added 14 new members. The Commission as thus constituted did not meet during 1958 and the thirteenth session of the Assembly decided (Resolution 1252D (XIII) of 4 November 1958) that the Commission should, for 1959 and on an ad hoc basis, be composed of all

the members of the United Nations.

The Commission in its new form met on only one occasion in 1959: on 10 September it unanimously adopted a resolution which recognized that the ultimate responsibility for measures of general disarmament is vested in the United Nations

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Mr. Winiarski's term as President of the Court expires 5 February 1964. <sup>2</sup>Mr. Alfaro's term as Vice-President of the Court expires 5 February 1964.