TORONTO MECHANICS INSTITUTE,

ANNUAL MEETING, 1871.

MAY 8th, 1871.

The Annual Meeting of members was held in the Lecture Room this evening, the 2nd Vice-President in the chair. The minutes of the previous meeting wore read and approved.

The annual Report was then read by the Secretary, and, on the motion of Mr. Spry, seconded by Mr. W. Lee, that the report be received and adopted. Mr. J. J. Withrow moved, seconded by Mr. Shanklin, that the report as now presented be not received, but be referred back with instructions to embody in the report an account of the change in the *personnel* of the Board and reason for such change. On being put to the vote the latter motion was carried. The meeting then adjourned until the following Monday.

MAY 15th.

The Meeting adjourned on May 8th was held this evening, Mr Fensom, 2nd Vice-President, in the chair.

The Secretary read the Annual Report as amended, according to the resolution passed at the previous meeting of members, May 8th. On the the motion of Mr. J. J. Withrow, seconded by Mr. Davison, the report was received and adopted.

Moved by Mr. Sheppard, seconded by Mr. McCrosson, that all the words after "attending the classes" be struck out in the section regarding evening classes. This motion was lost.

Moved by Mr. J. J. Withrow, seconded by Mr. T. Davison, that in consequence of the errors in the nomination list and the neglect to present a proper constitutional list, that the Provisional Board be requested to prepare a nomination list and that it be filled up in a constitutional manner. This motion on being put to the vote was carried.

On the motion of Mr. J. J. Withrow, seconded by Mr. Davison, the meeting adjourned *sine die*.

JULY 7th, 1871.

The Meeting adjourned May 15th was held this evening for election of officers. Mr. F. H. Medcalf in the chair.

On the motion of Mr. McCrosson, seconded by Mr. Maclear, Messrs. Badenach Crawford and Foster were appointed scrutineers of the ballot.

The Chairman declared Mr. Sweetnam elected as President for the ensuing year, there being no opposition.

The scrutineers reported the following officers elected :---

THOS. DAVISON, 1st Vice-President. JOHN FENSOM, 2nd do- do. JOHN HALLAM, Treasurar. DIRECTORS.

DIRECTORS.

DONALD GIBSON,	A. T. HOUEL,
F. H. MEDCALF,	W. C. MORRISON,
ALEX. WILLS, Jr.,	THOS. MACLEAR,
DONALD FRASER, Sr.	JOHN SHANKLIN,
ROBERT FLINT,	G. ROBERTSON,
J. B. NIXON.	N. L. STEINER.
The meeting adjou	irned.

The meeting adjourned.

SAMUEL BRODIE, Secretary.