And the question being proposed;

A Point of Order was raised by Mr. Harris (Grey-Bruce) that the question of setting up a commission to redistribute electoral ridings has been decided in the negative by the House on June 12, 1952, and therefore the question could not be renewed at this time.

Mr. Speaker ruled that although there is a similarity between the two amendments, there is also a considerable difference. The amendment of June 12 was one to a Bill which was moved in order to amend the British North America Act and the amendment provided for the setting up of a commission to effect the redistribution of electoral ridings after the year 1961. The present amendment refers to another Bill, namely, the Bill which is now before the House, and proposes that a commission should be set up now to consider the redistribution of ridings at the present time, and, if carried, it would not be inconsistent with the previous decision arrived at during this session. In view of that, and the fact that there is a difference between these two amendments, the present proposed amendment should be allowed to stand.

And after further Debate, the question being put on the said proposed amendment; it was negatived on the following division:—

YEAS

Messrs.

Adamson,	Drew,	Hodgson,	Nowlan,
Argue,	Fairclough (Mrs.),	Jones,	Pearkes,
Blair,	Fleming,	Knight,	Robichaud,
Brooks,	Fulton,	Knowles,	Ross (Souris),
Bryce,	Gibson,	Macdonnell	Spence,
Casselman,	Gillis,	(Greenwood),	Stanfield,
Charlton,	Graydon,	MacLean (Queens),	White
Churchill,	Green,	McGregor,	(Middlesex East),
Coyle,	Harkness,	McLure,	Wright—37.
Diefenbaker,	Hees,	Murphy,	

NAYS

Messrs.

Anderson,	Côté (Verdun-	Harrison,	MacNaught,
Applewhaite,	La Salle),	Hellyer,	McCann,
Balcom,	Darroch,	Helme,	McCubbin,
Bater,	Decore,	Henry,	McCusker,
Bennett,	Dewar,	Hetland,	McLean (Huron-
Beyerstein,	Dickey,	Hosking,	Perth),
Blackmore,	Dumas,	Jutras,	McWilliam,
Blanchette,	Eyre,	Kickham,	Major,
Blue,	Fair,	Kirk (Antigonish-	Martin,
Boucher,	Ferrie,	Guysborough),	Mayhew,
Bradette,	Fontaine,	Kirk (Digby-	Mott,
Bradley,	Fournier (Hull),	Yarmouth),	Murray (Cariboo),
Brisson,	Fulford,	Lafontaine,	Mutch,
Bruneau,	Gardiner,	Langlois (Gaspé),	Pouliot,
Campney,	Garland,	Lapointe,	Prudham,
Cleaver,	Garson,	Larson,	Quelch,
Cloutier,	Gauthier	Leger,	Riley,
Corry,	(Lac-Saint-Jean),	Low,	Robinson,
Côté (Saint-Jean-	Gour (Russell),	Macdonnell	Rooney,
Iberville-	Hansell,	(Edmonton East),	Rousseau,
Napierville),	Harris (Grey-Bruce)	MacKenzie.	St. Laurent.