No. 58

JOURNALS

OF THE

HOUSE OF COMMONS

OF CANADA

OTTAWA, WEDNESDAY, MAY 24, 1972

2.00 o'clock p.m.

PRAYERS

Mr. Laflamme, from the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections, presented the Second Report of the said Committee, which is as follows:

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 14, 1972, which reads as follows:

"Ordered,—That the allegations concerning wiretapping and opening of mail of Members of this House be referred to the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections.",

your Committee has held four sittings and heard the following witnesses:

From the Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Mr. W. L. Higgitt, Commissioner

From the Office of the Solicitor General: Mr. E. A. Côté, Deputy Solicitor General

From Bell Canada: Mr. F. D. Fahey, Director of Engineering Design.

Your Committee also heard evidence from the honourable Member for Wellington, Mr. A. D. Hales and from the honourable Member for Mackenzie, Mr. S. J. Korchinski.

Your Committee, through the Chairman, invited Mr. E. Nielsen, the honourable Member for Yukon, to appear on April 25 and 27, 1972, as it appeared to your Committee that the honourable Member for Yukon was the only other person who claimed to have any knowledge of the matters and things coming within the purview of the terms of reference mentioned above, by virtue of his remarks in the House, giving rise to the motion of the honourable Member for Fraser Valley East. Mr. Nielsen corresponded with your Committee and copies of this correspondence are herewith appended.

When the honourable Member for Yukon did not appear on the said dates, your Committee adopted the following resolution on April 27, 1972:

"That the honourable Member for Yukon be invited to appear before the Committee at any time at his convenience, within the next three weeks, in order to present evidence of the allegations made in the House with regards to tampering of mail and of telephones."

At the direction of the Chairman, a letter and an attested copy of the said resolution were sent to the honourable Member for Yukon on April 27 by the Clerk of the Committee.