of the United Nations and territories still dependent on a member. Including dependencies, the Commonwealth covers over one-fifth of the world's land surface and embraces well over 860 million people.

Of the 32 full members, 15 have retained a monarchical form of government. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is head of state of Canada and ten other members. Malaysia has as head of state a monarch elected for a five-year term from among their own members by the nine hereditary Malay rulers of West Malaysia. On attaining independence, two members of the Commonwealth, Lesotho and Swaziland, had their paramount chiefs declared king and head of state. The Kingdom of Tonga remained a monarchy after Britain relinquished its responsibility for the external affairs of this country in 1970. The 1962 constitution of Western Samoa provides for a head of state to be elected for a term of five years. It was decided, however, that two paramount chiefs should jointly hold the office of head of state for life (one died shortly thereafter). The functions of head of state are analogous to those of a constitutional monarch. Seventeen members of the association have adopted a republican form of government with a president as head of state, but all members of the Commonwealth recognize the British Sovereign as the symbol of their free association and, as such, the Head of the Commonwealth.

Associated States

Within the Commonwealth, the term "associated state" means a country that has attained full internal self-government and has formally assumed a status of association with one of the larger independent members, which becomes responsible for its external affairs and defence. The association is a free and voluntary one, terminable by either country at any time. In the Caribbean region, Antigua, St. Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla, Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Grenada are in association with Britain, which retains ultimate responsibility for their external relations and defence. The six countries are known as the West Indies Associated States (WIAS) and, by agreement with Britain, exercise delegated authority over a wide area of external relations. Britain is also responsible for the external affairs of Brunei and co-operates in the arrangement of defence for this state, which is a sultanate on the northwest coast of Borneo. Southern Rhodesia, before unilateral declaration of independence on November 11, 1965, was a selfgoverning dependent territory of Britain. Following the illegal declaration of independence, the British Government passed the Southern Rhodesia Act 1965, which declares that Southern Rhodesia continues to be part of Her Majesty's dominions and that the Government and Parliament of Britain continue to have responsibility and jurisdiction for and in respect of it. The Cook Islands in the South Pacific enjoy full internal self-government, but have chosen to be associated with New Zealand.