finally phrased was much more acceptable than the original. However, an Indian resolution to defer decision until 1954 gained the support of those who were opposed and those who were undecided, and was carried by a vote of 25-19 with one abstention and 14 absent. There appears to be a fair chance that the principle of the United States amendment will be accepted at the next General Conference if Canada continues to press the point with other member states between now and 1954.

Following defeat of the revised amendment, changes were made to adapt the Executive Board to a system of biennial conferences. It was agreed that the Board should be composed of 20 rather than 18 members and that each member should serve for a period of four rather than three years. One half of the Board will retire at each ordinary session so that, once interim arrangements concerning numbers have been worked out, ten new members will be elected at each ordinary session. <u>Elections to the Executive Board</u>

The members who were to retire in 1953 had their term of office extended to 1954. Professor Vittoro Veronese was elected to serve out the term, until 1954, of the late Count Jacini, the Italian member. The eight new members elected to the Executive Board are as follows (in order of votes received):

Mr. Luther Evans Mr. Henri Laugier H.E. Ventura Garcia Calderon H.E. Toru Hagiwara Mr. Luang Pin Malakul H.E. Dr. G.A. Raadi Prof. Oscar Secco Ellauri Prof. Jakob Nielsen

United States France Peru Japan Thailand Iran Uruguay Denmark

The Yugoslav member, who had announced his resignation over the admission of Spain, was persuaded to let it stand in abeyance pending consideration by the Yugoslav National Commission and Government. Should he renew his resignation, it will be necessary to elect one more member to replace him.

- 10 -