IF YOU GOT IN



Eric Champion was jubilant Wednesday night. He is our new First Vice-President. Eric's two friends seem to enjoy being with him. . . let's hope he can hold his own for the next 12 months.



Lawson Hunter, SRC President by acclamation was smiling too. Now he and vice-president Eric Champion are faced with the problem of setting up committees and preparing to reconstitute the SRC, as they proposed before the election.

VOLUME 98, NUMBER 20

Fredericton, N.B., January 28, 1966

The Voice Of UNB

UGEQ Loses At McGill

A late report from Montreal says that the students of McGill University have voted down their SRC-proposed entry into UGEQ. The organization is a French-Canadian student organiza-

The proposal was defeated for the second time. In December a referendum was held but it was declared invalid because of irregularities at one of the polls.

Our McGill source said the turnout at the polls was un-certain but that 56% of the voters were anti-UGEQ. Discussion before the referendum was "unusually quiet", he said. This was in contrast to

last term's debate. In November the McGill Daily supported UGEQ to the extent that the anti-UGEQ faction at McGill published their own paper, Resistance.

This time there was only a short note in Tuesday's Daily, which mentioned the second referendum. "We really heard about it from the Resistance," our source said.

WHO WON:

President:

Lawson Hunter

First Vice-president: Eric Champion

Arts Representatives:

Jerry Gadd Wayne Beach Rob Asprey

Peter Blair Janet Eastwood Barbie Roberts

Education:

Bev Cooke Sue Kinnear

Science:

Bev Boone Sue Storey

Forestry:

Engineering:

Kent Meisner

Bola Egberongbe

Business:

Nursing:

Senior Class:

Life Executive:

Valedictorian:

Sophomore Class:

Dave Jomini Bob Edwards

Hank Van der Linde

Bob Barnett

Lyn Radley

Bonnie Hamilton

President: Peter McDerby

Vice-President: John Webster Secretary-Treasurer: Cathy Sullivan President. Ken Carty

Vice-President: Steve Chandler Secretary-Treasurer. Elaine McEwan

Brian Malone

President: Andy Devereaux Vice-President: John Oliver Secretary-Treasurer John Dawes