

As the advantages which are offered to settlers by the British Colonies appear to be but imperfectly known, the following particulars are published by the Colonial Office for the use of those persons who desire information as to the best fields for settlement.

## DOMINION OF CANADA.

The territory comprised in the Dominion of Canada contains about Canada 3,500,000 square miles, extending from the Atlantic to the Pacific description, Ocean, and at its southern point reaching the 44 parallel of latitude. extent, climate, &c. It possesses thousands of square miles of the finest forests on the continent; widely spread coal fields; extensive and fisheries; its rivers and lakes are among the largest and most remarkable in the world, and the millions of acres of prairie lands in the newly opened-up North-West territories are reported as being among the most fertile on the continent of America.

Canada is divided into seven Provinces, as below :-

•					Sq. M.
1. Quebec	• •	• •		containing	193,355
2. Ontario				,,,	107,780
3. Nova Sco	otia		• •	,,	21,731
4. New Bru				,,	27,322
5. Prince E	dward's	Island	• •	,,	2,134
6. British C	olumbia			,,	213,550
7. Manitoba	a		• • •	, ,,	14,340
And the	North-V	Vest Ter	ritory	} ,,	2,750,000

The several Provinces have local legislatures, and the seat of the Government Dominion or Federal Parliament is at Ottawa. The Government is conducted on the same principle as that of Great Britain, viz; the responsibility of the Ministers to Parliament.

The Governor-General of the Dominion is appointed by the Queen, and the Lieutenant-Governors of the Provinces by the Governor-

General in Council.

Each Province is divided into Counties and Townships, having Local their own Local Boards and Councils for regulating local taxation for Government roads, schools, and other municipal purposes.