which the house orders it to be sent there. An amendment of such a wide import as the division of the proposed bill into three bills should not be moved with the Speaker in the chair after the house has already ordered consideration by the committee of a resolution recommending only one bill. The main object of the resolution is to approve the expenditure involved in amendment to the Canadian Wheat Board Act. On that, a general debate may take place, and if the resolution is carried, it will be time to consider under proper procedure whether the expenditure should be embodied in three bills.

There are many precedents to justify this opinion. Beauchesne, third edition, reports at page 551 that Mr. Speaker Glen decided on February 19, 1941, that: "On the motion that the Speaker leave the chair for the house to resolve itself into committee to consider a money resolution, it is out of order to move an amendment to the resolution." He gave a similar ruling on February 23, 1942.

I have come to the conclusion that the amendment is out of order.

Mr. ROSS (Souris): I maintain, Mr. Speaker, that our proposed amendment is a practical matter of modern common sense. I understand that your ruling is not debatable. If that is the case, I must respectfully appeal from it.

Mr. SPEAKER put the question as follows: The question before the house is an appeal from the Speaker's ruling. We had before the house a resolution proposing to amend the Canadian Wheat Board Act. The hon. member for Souris (Mr. Ross) moved an amendment, which I declared out of order. I based my ruling on a ruling given by Mr. Speaker Glen on February 19, 1941, which may be found at page 551 of Beauchesne, third edition, and a similar ruling on February 23, 1942, that on the motion that the Speaker leave the chair for the house to resolve itself into committee to consider a money resolution it is out of order to move an amendment to the resolution. From my ruling the hon. member appeals.

The house divided on the question: Shall the Speaker's decision be sustained? And the decision of the chair was sustained on the following division:

## YEAS

Archibald Argue Arsenault Baker Beaudoin Beaudry Belzile Benidickson Bentley Bertrand (Laurier) Bertrand ((Prescott) Black (Chateauguay-Huntingdon) Blanchette Boivin Bourget Bowerman Bradette Brown Bryce Burton Campbell Castleden Chevrie Claxton Cleaver Cloutier Coté (Matapedia-Matane) Coté (St. Johns-Iberville-Napierville) Coté (Verdun) Cournoyer Croll Cruickshank Dechene Denis Dickey Dion (Lake St. John-Roberval) Dionne (Beauce) Douglas Emmerson Eudes Farguhar Fournier (Hull) Fournier (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Gardiner Gauthier (Nipissing) Gauthier (Portneuf) Gibson (Comox-Alberni) Gibson (Hamilton West) Gillis Gingues

Gladstone Golding Gour (Russell) Gourd (Chapleau) Grant Gregg Harris (Grey-Bruce) Healy Herridge Howe Tisley Irvine Isnor Jaenicke Jutras King, Mackenzie Knight Knowles LaCroix

Lafontaine Langlois Lapointe Laurendeau Leger Lesage Little McCann McCuaig McCulloch (Pictou) McCullough (Assiniboia) Macdonald (Brantford City) McDonald (Parry Sound) McIlraith MacInnis McIvor McKay MacKinnon MacLean MacNaught Maloney Marier Martin Matthews (Brandon) Matthews (Kootenay East) Maybank Mayhew Michaud Mitchell Moore Mullins Mutch Nicholson Nixon Parent Pinard Power Probe Raymond (Wright) Reid Richard (Gloucester) Rinfret Robinson (Simcoe East) Ross (Hamilton East) St. Laurent Sinclair Sinnott Stewart (Winnipeg North Stuart (Charlotte) Strum, Mrs. Thatcher Townley-Smith Tremblay Tucker Viau Warren Weir Whitman Winkler

Winters

Wright

Zaplitny-131.