Previous Belgian prize winners are Geo Norge, who received the inaugural award in 1971, Suzanne Lilar (1973), Pierre Mertens (1975), Marcel Moreau (1977), Hubert Juin (1979) and Jacques-Gérard Linze (1981). The prize has been awarded to the Canadian writers Gaston Miron (1972), Réjean Ducharme (1974), Marie-Claire Blais (1976), Victor-Lévy Beaulieu (1980) and François Charron (1982).

For further information:

Naim Kattan Head Writing and Publication Section Canada Council (613)237-3400 or, toll-free: 1-800-267-8282

Guy Gervais Cultural Affairs Arts Promotion Division Department of External Affairs (613)992-5359