allowed them. Quebec's premier, Honoré Mercier, and Ontario's premier, Oliver Mowat, protested the "over-mighty" rule of Ottawa, and a conference was called to reconsider confederation. British Columbia, Prince Edward Island and the federal government boycotted it, and no decisive action was taken.

Manitoba eliminated sectarian schools in 1890, and the Privy Council supported it. The federal cabinet issued an Order in Council reinstating the Catholic schools; but when the province refused to obey, it made no effort to enforce the order.

In 1905 two new provinces, Alberta and Saskatchewan, were born. The federal government retained ownership of their natural resources and tried to set up dual school systems. It backed off when the school plan met vigorous opposition.

In 1912 Ontario limited the use of French as the language of instruction to the first two grades; in 1914 it closed some publicly supported Frenchlanguage Catholic schools that employed teachers without Ontario certificates. The federal cabinet did not attempt to change Ontario's decisions.

During World War I, the War Measures Act greatly expanded federal power, and the Parliament passed the first income tax and created emergency boards and commissions.

In 1930 the federal government gave Manitoba, Alberta and Saskatchewan ownership of their natural resources. The Great Depression focused attention on the fact that while the provinces were responsible for expanding social welfare programs, the federal government had most of the tax resources. In 1935 the federal government passed broad social-reform laws, but the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council declared most of them unconstitutional. In the provinces, premiers Maurice Duplessis, of Quebec, and Mitchell Hepburn, of Ontario, were insisting on provincial rights and economic autonomy. Alberta, devastated by the Great Depression, attempted to issue its own scrip as legal tender and the federal government disallowed it.

As World War II began, the Rowell-Sirois Commission advised the federal government to collect more taxes and share the revenue with the provinces. A 1940 amendment to the British North America Act allowed Parliament to enact national unemployment insurance legislation.

In 1949 Newfoundland became the Confederation's tenth province; and the Supreme Court of Canada replaced the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council as the court of final appeal.

As the fifties began, a transfer of powers allowed Parliament to pass the Federal Old Age Security Act. Federal-provincial conferences became commonplace. In the 1960s, federal governments pursued this "cooperative federalism," and the federal and provincial ministers agreed on tax-sharing plans and measures to fund higher education and health insurance through federal grants and other programs in which each province could choose whether or not to participate.

In 1970 members of the Front de Libération du Québec kidnapped the British Trade Commissioner and the Quebec Minister of Labour and Immigration. The federal government invoked the War Measures Act and declared martial law.

In 1976 the Parti Québécois won a majority in Quebec's National Assembly. Lévesque promised a referendum on separation of the province from the Confederation.

In 1978 Prime Minister Trudeau proposed a new constitution and a realigning of powers.

In 1905 Earl Grey, the Governor General, went to Edmonton to welcome Alberta into the Confederation. He stands here just inside the right streamer. Prime Minister Sir Wilfrid Laurier is just inside the left one, and the woman is Lady Laurier.

