

Vol. LXXXXI

HALIFAX NOVA SCOTIA, FEBRUARY 26, 1959

ELECTION RESULTS

No. 16

THE VICTORS

REID AND TURNBULL





Byron Reid

Wally Turnbull

Byron Reid and Wally Turnbull were elected to posts of president and vice-president of the Council of Students held yesterday. Reid defeated Rick Dawson by 47 votes, while his running-mate, Turnbull, defeated Jim Ring by 171 votes. Only 51.9 percent of the student population cast their ballots.

In an interview last night, Byron said: "I want to thank all those who gave me their support in the election and I hope that they will continue to do so in the coming year In order to be strong the Council of Students must have the support of all students on the campus."

Newly - elected vice - president, Wally Turnbull said: "I would like to thank the students for their support. I pledge myself in the coming year to carry out the planks of our platform to the best of my ability.

Retiring president, Dave Matheson was pleased with the results of the elections. In a statement last night he said: "The election results are certainly pleasing in that they show an excellent balance of 'the new and the old'. The successful candidates are naturally students who have shown enthusiasm and interest in the student affairs. The elections, on the whole, have been quite close, indicating that there is still a strong group of qualified students who will wholeheartedly support future campus activities.

"My sincere congratulations are extended to the successful candi-

Delta Gamma

Elect Executives

Medicine and Commerce elected their 1959-60 society executive in yesterday's campus elections.

Marvin Clark was elected president of the Med society; Angelo De Robbio was elected vice-president. Other officers elected were: treasurer, Issac Boniuk; junior CAMSI Representative, Jim Holland; DAAC Representative, Rollie Perry.

The Med students voted 108 to 20 in favour of changing their con-

Ron Simmons was elected president of the Dalcom executive; Peter Green was elected vice-president and Cliff Shirley was elected company comptroller. Other Commerce Company elections will be held at a society meeting.

DGDS President

Candidate	Medicine	Law	Arts	Engineering	Commerce	Pharmacy	Dentistry	TOTAL
Council President Rick Dawson		88 23	173 179	83 30	38 51	4 10	6 37	413 460
Council Vice-President Jim Ring Wally Turnbull	. 21 128	50 59	141 210	95 17	26 63	3 11	11 30	347 518
DGDS President Don Aitken	. by acc	lamat	tion					
DGDS Vice-President Charlotte Gibbon Rick Quigley	. 89 42	48 53	210 143	48 57	45 42	7 7	25 9	472 353
DGDS Secretary-Treasurer Marilyn Medjuck Sandy Ross	. 58	27 64	171 172	24 82	31 52	7 6	14 20	332 470
NFCUS Chairman Alan Fleming Doug Smith	. 66	39 73	242 105	53 51	60 26	7 8	12 23	479 353
CommerceDGLes Karagianis62 LibRon Simmons24 JanLawDGWendel Fulton33 Shi	AC Preside by MacRae et Sinclair AC Vice-F rley Ball	reside	nt	93 E 111 J K S 127 I	ophomore sob Coope im Hurle Caren Pric ally Ross Delta Gam	ryeeee	ident	83 85 77 76
Gordon Sedgewick 49	AC Secret	ary-Tr	easurer	108 S	Soonie Mu Elliot Suth secretary-'	erland . Freasure	r	107
Bill Wilson— by acclamation Jan Dentistry A & Dave Campbell 21 Ma Mitchell Levine 13 Elli Thomas Raddall 9	tet Ritcey S Senior MacDor ot Sutherl	Girl nald		90 I 100 S 232 V	OAAC Pre pud Chan Valter Fitz	sident idler gerald		106 209 150
Medicine (elect two)	& S Senior In Chambe Oland S Junior Traine Kirl In Smith S Junior Ser Dewis I Dickson	Girl by by Boy		172 162 I 162 I 87 I 178 I 70 J 161 M	Ped Wickwood AAC Vice Coss Carso Oeke Jone Cob Schurr OAAC Seconn Bourd Con Clark Ohn McKidike Nobl	vire e-Presid n es man retary-T noit ggan e	ent `reasure	123 156 253 201 r 77 146 59 156

DAAC President DGAC President NFCUS Chairman



Spud Chandler



Janet Sinclair



Alan Fleming



Elliot Sutherland



Don Aitken