WHITMAN, HON. GEORGE.

S. of Elnathan Whitman, who represented Annapolis, in Leg. Assem., N.S., from 1836 to 1840. B. in 1823 in Rosette, Annapolis Co., and ed. there. M., in 1851, Clements Mary Arabella, dau. of Capt. Peter Boice. Is a farmer. Was Official Assignee for Annapolis Co., from 1869 to 1875. Sat for Annapolis in Leg. Assem., N.S., from 1863 to g.e. 1867, when he was defeated. Called to L.C. 25th Augt. 1881. A Liberal Conservative.—Round Hill, Annapolis Co., N.S.

## Legislative Assembly.

(Elected June 1982.)

\* Speaker.—Hon. Angus McGillivray. (Elected 8 Feb. 1883. Salary, \$800.)

Clerk.—Henry C. D. Twining. (Salary, \$1,200.)

Bell, Adam Carr. (Pictou.)

S. of Basil Bell, Esq., who came from Haddingtonshire, Scot., and Mary, dau. of Adam Carr, Esq., a native of Northumberland, Eng., one of the first lessees of the Albion mines, Pictou. B. in Pictou, N.S., 11 Nov. 1847. Ed. in New Glasgow, N.S., Sackville, N.B., and Glasgow Univ. M., at New Glasgow, 4 Sept. 1873, Miss Annie Henderson. Was Warden of New Glasgow in 1876. Sworn a mem of the Ex. Council and Provl. Secretary, 25 May 1882; resigned with his colleagues in June 1882. First returned to Parlt. at g.e. 1878, and re-elected at last g.e. A Liberal Conservative.—New Glasgow, N.S.

## PREVIOUS SPEAKERS.

The Members' sessional allowance is \$400, and mileage.

<sup>1.</sup> Hon. John J. Marshall, from 30 January, 1868, until his death, 26 October 1870. 2. Hon. Jared Chipman Troop, from 2 Feb. 1871, until dissolution,

Hon. John B. Dickie, from 11 March to 1 May 1875.
Hon. W. B. Des Brisay, from 3 May 1875 to Sept. 1876. Vacated upon his appt. to County Judgeship.
Hon. J. N. Mack, from February 1877 to September 1878.
Hon. E. T. Moseley, from 1878 until the dissolution, 1882.