GEOGRAPHY

OF THE

BRITISH EMPIRE.

CHAPTER I.

General Observations.

1. The British Empire consists of the islands of Great Britain, Ireland, and other smaller islands; of extensive colonies in North America, in the West-Indies, in Africa, and in the East-Indies; and of the fortresses of Gibraltar and Malta, in the Mediterranean.

Obs. 1.—By the law and usage of European nations, many newly discovered islands in the South Seas form also part of the British empire; as the Society Islands; the Sandwich Islands, the Friendly Islands, King George's Islands, Phillips's Island, Holt's Island, the Aukland Islands, the Carolines, Queen Charlotte's Island, &c.

Islands, the Carolines, Queen Charlotte's Island, &c.
2. The Republic of the Ionian isles is under the immediate protection of Great Britain, and the Prince Regent has nominated a Governor, and assigned a constitution for the guidance of the people.

2. By means of its powerful and unequalled navy, the British Government is enabled to extend its authority over all seas; and Britannia is justly said to be Mistress of the Ocean, and Queen of the Isles.

Obs.—This, however, is merely honorary and poetical, for the sea is the common property of all nations, and

A

168

le

ES.

- 112 - 114 - 114 c. 114

- 114 c. 114 - 116 - 118

- 120 - 122 128

> _ 134 _ 138 _ 140 _ 150

> > 158 158 182

- 168 - 170