The Varsity

PUBLISHED EVERY TUESDAY MORNING DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR, IN THE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE LITERARY AND SCIENTIFIC SOCIETY

The Annual Subscription is \$2.00 a year, payable strictly in advance. Single copies, 10 cents.

All literary contributions and items of College news should be addressed to THE EDITOR, University College, Toronto.

All communications of a business nature should be addressed to THE BUSINESS MANAGER. Advertising rates can be had on application.

The office of The Varsity is at the corner of Spadina avenue and College street, rooms 3 and 5, Bank of Commerce Building.

Anonymous contributions will be published if approved by the Editor. This does not include letters to the Editor.

The Editorial Staff.

WALTER S. McLAY, '91. EDITOR-IN-CHIEF G. HOWARD FERGUSON, '91. Business Manager TREASURER WILLIAM H. BUNTING, '92.

ASSOCIATE EDITORS.

C. A. STUART, '91. J. S. SCOTT, '91. S. B. LEACOCK, '91. A. P. NORTHWOOD, 'or. A. M. STEWART, '91. C. H. MITCHELL, '92. S. J. ROBERTSON, '92.

Medical representatives on the staff have not yet been appointed.

The Directorate.

C. A. STUART, '91, Chairman. W. H. KNOX, '93. J. McNICOL, 'or. W. C. CLARK, '93. A. T. KIRKPATRICK, '91. F. H. MOSS, School of Medicine. J. A. McLEAN, '92. J. B. LOCKHART, '92. S. J. McLEAN, '94.

J. W. ODELL, '92, Secretary.

OCTOBER 21, 1890.

NOMINATION MEETING.

The Literary Society held its second meeting for this year on Friday evening last, in the Y. M. C. A. Hall. The Society being for the time bereft of a president, Dr. Harley Smith appeared in the chair, where his genial presence brought back the times when the fire was not, and when the great election of '90 was as yet only a golden anticipation, and not a reminiscence of shattered vestments, divided victory and financial ruin. Dr. Smith's appearance was greeted with hearty applause, which he acknowledged in a short address.

After the reading of the minutes, the Society settled down to the serious occupation of the evening, that of making nominations. Some scattered Freshmen who had escaped the general sweep of last meeting, and some who had not, were ruthlessly coralled and nominated as members. This done, the appointments of leaders for the Mock Parliament to be held two meetings later came up. For leader of the Government Messrs. Godfrey, McKinnon, Cooper, Buckingham and Walker were nominated. The poll resulted in the election of Mr. McKinnon. Nominations for the position of leader of the Opposition were then called for, and were about to be proceeded with when a diversion was created, by Mr. G. H. Ferguson's motion, in accordance with which an incursion was made into order of business F.

The reason for this departure from the ordinary course

was soon made manifest. Mr. C. A. Stuart arose, and in a short speech nominated Mr. T. A. Gibson, B.A., for the office of president, left vacant by the resignation of Mr. Duft. Mr. Ferguson followed in support of the nomination. which was received with enthusiasm by all. Mr. Gibson, who was present, was declared elected by acclamation, and, as Dr. Smith's presence was required elsewhere, took the chair at once.

Resuming, the meeting proceeded to nominate Messrs. Godfrey, Cooper, Buckingham and Walker for the position of leader of the Opposition. The poll resulted in the election of Mr. Godfrey. The Society next, in accordance with the recommendation of the class of '94, nominated and appointed Mr. S. J. McLean as First Year Director to THE VARSITY. The members then turned their attention to the First Year Councillorship. Mr. McLay nominated Mr. Brown; Mr. McAllister nominated Mr. Vickers; Mr. McLean nominated Mr. Bigelow. Mr. McLennan nominated Daniel Webster, but later withdrew the nomination. This it was hinted by some, was due to collusion on the part of Mr. Webster with Mr. Reeves, who was afterwards nominated; but on this point no certain information has been obtained. Mr. McNicol nominated Mr. S. J. McLean; Mr. Lindsay nominated Mr. Lamb; Mr. Knox nominated Mr. O'Malley; Mr. Wales nominated Mr. Reeves; Mr. Strath nominated Mr. Griffiths; Mr. Shipley nominated Mr. Snell; Mr. Warren nominated Mr. Cronyn.

Finally the nominations were declared closed, the literary programme was announced, and a wearied society leaned back in its chair, proud with the consciousness of

arduous duty nobly done.

The Glee Club, which had in the intervals of polling been working off its first bashfulness, came promptly to the front. Mr. W. S. Watson followed with a well-rendered reading, and the debate began. The subject was, "Resolved, That the ends of education can best be secured by specialization in University studies." Mr. Briggs led for the affirmative, and Mr. Rothwell for the negative. Messrs. Parks, Cooper, Tennant, Kirkpatrick and McKellar also spoke. Owing probably to the lateness of the hour and the exhausted state of the Society, the speeches, though good, were for the most part brief. The President summed up and put the question to a vote, which resulted in favor of the affirmative.

Mr. Cooper's resolution respecting the custom of rising upon the entrance of a lecturer then came before the meeting, and, after some scattered discussion, was put to the vote and lost, the general sentiment seeming to be that, since the custom was already in existence, the resolution was uncalled for, and the matter rather one to be decided practically by the several classes.

At this juncture some members manifested intentions of proceeding to nominate readers and speakers for the public debate to be held in November, but the precipitate withdrawal of the greater part of the Society frustrated the design. The matter was postponed, and the meeting

was declared adjourned.

THE RECEPTION.

The annual reception given by the Young Men's Christian Association in conjunction with the Ladies' Auxiliary was a very pleasant and successful affair. The spacious parlors of the Association Hall were thrown open and well, almost inconveniently, filled by the large number of students present. Among the visitors were Sir Daniel Wilson and Miss Wilson, Mrs. Edward Blake and Miss McGee, President and Treasurer respectively of the Ladies' Auxiliary; Prof. and Mrs. Baldwin, Prof. and Mrs. Alexander, Prof. and Mrs. Ashley, Prof. and Mrs. McCurdy, Prof. and Mrs. Loudon, Mr. and Mrs. Fraser, Mr. and Mrs. Fairclough, Mrs. Vandersmissen, Miss Salter, Mrs. and Miss Robb, Mrs. Christie, Mr. Keys, G. A. H. Fraser, B.A.; Rev. J. McP. Scott, B.A.; Dr. Gordon, and A. H. Young, B.A., late General Secretary of the Association.