satisfaction of knowing that he has been successful in obtaining every scholarship for which he has tried. If we belonged to a betting instead of a legal fraternity, we should back him to take the scholarship for the fourth year as he has the first, second and third, though it is said that a University man intends to make him win it well a year hence,"—a prophecy which was duly fulfilled in the following year.

Upon being called to the Bar in Michaelmas Term, 1869, Mr. Moss at once became a member of his brother's firm of Osler & Moss, the present Mr. Justice Osler being the senior partner. The firm was later joined by the late Chief Justice Harrison, and carried on business under the name of Harrison, Osler & Moss, until October, 1875, when upon the elevation of Mr. Harrison and Mr. Thomas Moss to the Bench, the firm was joined by the late James Bethune, Q.C., and became Bethune, Osler & Moss. Mr. Osler being called to the Bench in 1879, the firm continued as Bethune, Moss, Falconbridge & Hoyles until 1883, when Mr. Bethune withdrew and Mr. Moss became the senior partner. In 1887 the firm contributed yet another member to the Bench in the person of Mr. Justice Falconbridge.

Mr. Moss has always been closely connected with the Law Society. He filled the positions of Lecturer and Examiner from 1872 till 1879, and he was elected in Nov., 1880, by the Benchers, to fill a vacancy in their number. He was re-elected by the profession at the general election in May, 1881, and has been returned high up on the list at every subsequent election.

He was appointed by the Benchers in 1884 as Chairman of the Legal Education Committee, and also as the representative of the Law Society on the Senate of the University of Toronto, both of which positions he has since continuously occupied.

It was very largely due to his energetic efforts that the Law School was established on a permanent and efficient basis in 1889, and obtained a home of its own by the erection of the Law School wing of Osgoode Hall in 1891. Mr. Moss also filled the position of fifth President of the County of