Evolution of External Affairs

Canada's first official representation abroad dates to 1840, with the posting of "migration agents" in the United Kingdom. In 1895, Canada's first trade commissioner outpost was established in Sydney, Australia. The Department of External Affairs was created in 1909, initially to deal with Canada's relations with countries outside the British Empire. But as Canada achieved full foreign policy autonomy, the department's activities broadened.

Initially several government departments delivered the immigration, trade commissioner, tourism, and development assistance programs. In 1972, administrative services for most government operations abroad were integrated under External Affairs. In the early 1980s, all the major elements of Canada's activities abroad were integrated into one department.

Today, the department has 4 439 Canadian employees in Canada and abroad, as well as 3 912 non-Canadian employees abroad, and manages 115 overseas offices accredited to 164 countries and international institutions.

The department has three ministers:

- the Secretary of State for External Affairs, who has overall responsibility for the conduct of Canada's foreign relations;
- the Minister for International Trade, who directs Canada's international trade activities;
- the Minister for External Relations, who manages Canada's development assistance program and assists with relations with developing countries and la Francophonie.

The department is associated with the Canadian International Development Agency, whose president reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs and the Minister for External Relations, as well as with the Canadian Commercial Corporation and the Export Development Corporation, whose presidents report to the Minister for International Trade.