## **International Court of Justice**

The Court consists of fifteen judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, proceeding independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for re-election. To provide for rotation, however, the Statute of the Court states that, of the members elected at the first election, the terms of office of five judges should expire at the end of three years, and the terms of five more at the end of six years. The judges who were to serve the initial three and six-year periods were chosen by lot. The terms of office began on the date of the first election, February 6, 1946. The present judges of the Court, with the year their term of office ends, are as follows:

End of	Term
Panama	1964 1
of	1961
	Panama

T .: 1 Dedays of United	
Abdel Hamid Badawi, of United Arab Republic	1966
Jules Basdevant, of France	1964
Roberto Cordova, of Mexico	1964
Green H. Hackworth, of United	
States of America	1961
Helge Klaestad, of Norway (Pres-	
ident)	1961
Feodor Ivanovich Kojevnikov, of	1961
U.S.S.R.	
V. K. Wellington Koo, of China	1966
Sir Hersch Lauterpacht, of the	
United Kingdom	1964
Lucio Moreno Quintana, of Argen-	
tina	1964
Sir Percy Spender, of Australia	1966
Jean Spiropoulos, of Greece	
Bodhan Winiarski, of Poland	
Sir Muhammad Zafrulla Khan, of	
Pakistan (Vice-President)	1961

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Dr. Ricardo J. Alfaro of Panama, having received an absolute majority in both the Assembly and the Security Council, was declared elected as Judge of the International Court by the Acting President. Dr. Alfaro will serve for the unexpired term of the late Judge Guerrero, ending 5 February 1964. (813th plenary meeting, 29 September 1959)

## Disarmament Commission 1

Membership for 1959: All members of the United Nations

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> This Commission was established on January 11, 1952, by the General Assembly, to function under and report to the Security Council (see "Canada and the United Nations"—1951-52, Appendix V, pp. 157-158). A change in the composition of the Commission took effect January 1, 1958, with the Permanent Membership being expanded by resolution 1150 (XII) of November 19, 1957, of the General Assembly, adding fourteen to the permanent membership for 1958. However, the Soviet Delegation indicated that it would refuse to participate in any work of the Disarmament Commission, either in its expanded or original composition, and neither the Disarmament Commission nor its Sub-Committee (the first five members listed above) met in 1958. A resolution passed at the thirteenth session of the General Assembly set up for 1959 a Disarmament Commission of all members of the United Nations on an ad hoc basis. (For details see Article on Disarmament, Chapter II of "Canada and the United Nations" 1958). A further resolution, adopted at the fourteenth session of the General Assembly, continued the Commission indefinitely with the same composition.