Malone

Points of Orders

POINTS OF ORDER

SPECIAL JOINT COMMITTEE

Ms. Ethel Blondin (Western Arctic): Mr. Speaker, I voted on this resolution, wholeheartedly supporting the super committee, knowing full well and expecting that there will be provisions made in an ex officio capacity for aboriginal people.

• (1550)

1968 ELECTION

Mr. Maurice Foster (Algoma): Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. I want to draw the attention of the House to a very important date, June 25, next Tuesday, because that is the anniversary for at least seven members of this House of Commons who were elected some 23 years ago on June 25, 1968.

They include yourself, Mr. Deputy Chairman of Committees, and the Deputy Prime Minister. This illustrious group of members also includes the hon. member for Regina—Lumsden who is sitting down here and the hon. member for Yorkton-Melville who I guess is not in the House today, a very distinguished member. It includes also the hon, member for Davenport who sits right here but has just stepped out of the House, the hon. member for York Centre and myself.

Some hon. members: Hear, hear.

Mr. Foster: I might mention that the hon. member for Papineau—Saint-Michel who was elected actually in a by-election in the fall of 1967 has been adopted by the class of 1968 as an integral part of our group.

I might say that 1968 was a really great year, and I think most of the members of the Official Opposition would agree with that. It was great for many reasons, but especially because we were just coming out of our country's centennial year and we showed great optimism, great hope and great confidence in our country.

As we go into this year, with all its trials, tribulations and great difficulties, I hope that we may find anew using those traditional Canadian feelings of of tolerance, goodwill and understanding the hope, the confidence and the optimism that we had in 1968 and go on to build a better and even stronger Canada.

Marchi Martin (LaSalle-Émard) McCreath

Manley

Masse McDermid McLean Mifflin Milliken Monteith Mitges Mulroney Nicholson Oberle Nunziata O'Kurley Ouellet Pagtakhan Peterson Pickard Phinney Porter Plourde Proud Pronovost Prud'homme Reid Ricard Reimer Rideout Robitaille Rompkey Schneider Saint-Julien Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Shields Siddon Soheski

Soetens Sparrow Stevenson Speller Stewart Tardif Tétreault Thacker Thorkelson

Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton-Peel) Vanclief Van de Walle Vankoughnet Vézina Venne Volpe Vien Wappel Walker Wenman Weiner Wilbee White Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

Young (Acadie - Bathurst) - 189

NAYS

Worthy

Members

Angus Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Benjamin Blaikie Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Brewin Butland Edmonston Duceppe Fulton Gardiner Gérin

Harvey (Edmonton East) Grey (Beaver River) Hoydebo

Hunter Karpoff Kindy Kristiansen Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) Langdon (Essex-Windsor)

Laporte MacWilliam Lapierre Leblanc (Longueuil) McLaughlin McCurdy Mitchell Murphy Nystrom Parker Riis Robinson Rocheleau Stupich

Young (Beaches - Woodbine)-44 Whittaker

PAIRED MEMBERS

Members

Hughes MacAulay Tremblay (Rosemont) Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia)

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): I declare the motion, as amended, carried.