Ministerial Appointments

Minister) moved:

That the speech of His Excellency the Governor General to both houses of parliament be taken into consideration at the next sitting of the house.

Motion agreed to.

THE MINISTRY

ANNOUNCEMENT OF MINISTERIAL CHANGES

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, in accordance with the usual practice of the house I should like at this time to bring to its attention officially the changes which have occurred in the ministry since the last session of parliament. On September 12 last Hon. Alfred J. Brooks, P.C., Q.C., resigned his seat as member for the constituency of Royal, which he had held since 1935, on his appointment to the Senate. He has since retired from the ministry.

On October 11 last Hon. George R. Pearkes, P.C., V.C., D.S.O., M.C., resigned his seat as member for Esquimalt-Saanich, which he had held since 1945. He retired from the ministry upon accepting the lieutenant governorship of British Columbia. Both Mr. Brooks and General Pearkes, who served their country with such outstanding gallantry and devotion, will be greatly missed here, for they counted many friends on both sides of the house. Both displayed an intimate knowledge of their respective departments and their retirement from the cabinet will be sorely felt by their colleagues. It is with satisfaction, however, I may say, that the country will continue to benefit from their wise counsel and service. Both have much to contribute in the new functions to which they have been appointed.

On October 11 the following changes were announced in the composition of the ministry. The hon, member for Broadview (Mr. Hees) who formerly held the portfolio of minister of transport, relinquished that post and was appointed Minister of Trade and Commerce. The hon, member for Three Rivers (Mr. Balcer) relinquished his post as Solicitor General of Canada and was appointed Minister of Transport. The hon, member for Winnipeg South Centre (Mr. Churchill) relinquished his post as minister of trade and commerce and was appointed Minister of Veterans Affairs. He will continue to act as house leader. The hon. member for Calgary North (Mr. Harkness), on the relinquishment of his post as minister of agriculture, was appointed Minister of National Defence. The hon, member for St. John's West (Mr. Browne), who was minister without portfolio, was appointed Solicitor General of Canada. The hon, member for Qu'Appelle (Mr. Hamilton) gave up his post

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime as minister of northern affairs and national resources and was appointed Minister of Agriculture.

> Four other members of the house had now taken their seats on the treasury benches after having been sworn in as members of Her Majesty's privy council. They are the hon, member for Royal (Mr. Flemming) who has been appointed Minister of Forestry; the hon, member for Bellechasse (Mr. Dorion) who has been appointed Secretary of State; the hon. member for Brandon-Souris (Mr. Dinsdale) who has been appointed Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources, and the hon. member for London (Mr. Halpenny) who has been appointed Minister without Portfolio.

INTERNAL ECONOMY COMMISSION

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime Minister) presented the following message from His Excellency the Governor General:

The Governor General transmits to the House of Commons a certified copy of an order in council appointing the Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming, Minister of Finance, the Hon. Leon Balcer, Minister of Transport, the Hon. George Clyde Nowlan, Minister of National Revenue, and the Hon. Ellen Louks Fairclough, Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, to act with the Speaker of the House of Commons as commissioners for the purposes and under the provisions of chapter 143 of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1952, intituled: An act respecting the House of Commons.

STANDING COMMITTEES

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime Minister) moved:

That a special committee be appointed to prepare and report with all convenient speed, lists of members to compose the standing committees of this house under standing order 65, the said committee to be composed of Messrs. Balcer, Churchill, Habel, Pallett and Peters.

Motion agreed to.

HOUSE OF COMMONS

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES OF THE WHOLE

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, during the last several sessions Mr. Charles Edward Rea, the hon. member for the electoral district of Spadina, has been deputy chairman of the committee of the whole house. In general he has given good satisfaction to all, and I therefore move that he be appointed deputy chairman of the committee of the whole house during the present session.

Motion agreed to.

[Mr. Speaker.]