The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, today announced the appointment of two new Governors and renewal of the appointments of three members of the twenty-one-member Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre.

The two new Governors are Victor L. Urquidi of Mexico and Manuchehr Agah of Iran, both economists. Those appointed for a second term are Pierre Bauchet of France, Louis Berlinguet of Canada, and Sir John Crawford of Australia. Governors are appointed for a four-year term on a rotating basis to ensure a measure of continuity.

The IDRC is a public corporation, established by an Act of the Canadian Parliament in 1970 to support research designed to adapt science and technology to the specific needs of developing countries.

In accordance with the Act, Governors are appointed by the Government of Canada. Eleven of the Governors, including the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, must be Canadian citizens. It has become practice to draw the other ten Governors from among people from other countries who have made notable contributions in the field of international development. Six of them are from developing countries.

...2