CONFERENCE ON DISARMAMENT

CD/1163 7 August 1992

Original: ENGLISH

PROGRESS REPORT TO THE CONFERENCE ON DISARMAMENT ON THE THIRTY-FOURTH SESSION OF THE AD HOC GROUP OF SCIENTIFIC EXPERTS TO CONSIDER INTERNATIONAL COOPERATIVE MEASURES TO DETECT AND IDENTIFY SEISMIC EVENTS

- 1. The Ad Hoc Group of Scientific Experts to Consider International Cooperative Measures to Detect and Identify Seismic Events, initially established in pursuance of the decision taken by the Conference of the Committee on Disarmament on 22 July 1976, held its thirty-fourth formal session from 27 July to 7 August 1992, in the Palais des Nations, Geneva, under the Chairmanship of Dr. Ola Dahlman of Sweden. This was the twenty-sixth session of the Group, convened under its new mandate by the decision of the Committee on Disarmament at its 48th meeting on 7 August 1979.
- 2. The Ad Hoc Group is open to all member States of the Conference on Disarmament. It is also open on a standing basis to all non-member States which have been invited upon their request by the Conference on Disarmament to participate in its work. Accordingly, scientific experts and representatives of the following member States of the Conference on Disarmament participated in the session: Australia, Canada, China, Czech and Slovak Federal Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, Peru, Romania, Russian Federation, Sweden, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America.
- 3. Scientific experts and representatives from the following non-member States of the Conference on Disarmament participated in the session: Austria, Finland, New Zealand, Norway, Spain and Switzerland.
- 4. During the session, 38 papers containing information on national investigations related to the work of the Group were presented by experts from: Australia, Austria, Czech and Slovak Federal Republic, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Romania, Russian Federation, Sweden, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.