munist governments, though China and Yugoslavia do not belong*.

c) The Barton Group of Western and other like-minded nations, composed of the members of NATO, Australia, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand and Spain. Its name derives from the group's first convenor, William H. Barton, a former Canadian Permanent Representative to the UN.

As always, there are variations. At the Preparatory Committee session, Cuba and Ethiopia have attended meetings of both the non-aligned and socialist groups. The Nordic countries sometimes meet separately. Of the Barton group members, those in the European Community usually try to develop a common policy in advance.

These caucuses will function at UNSSOD II. Agreements on both procedure and substance will be negotiated between them. Each will be pressing for its special causes and particular interests. One can expect:

- the non-aligned group to advocate the transfer of money saved by cuts in defence spending to programmes of economic development and to continue to criticize Israeli and South African nuclear policies;
- the non-nuclear powers to press the states with nuclear weapons to begin real nuclear disarmament and to share their knowledge so that nuclear energy can be more widely used for peaceful purposes;
- the socialist group to press for acceptance of the proposals put forward by Secretary-General Leonid Brezhnev at the 26th Congress of the Soviet Communist Party in February 1981:
- the Western nations to insist on adequate verification of any disarmament or arms control measures:
- regional groupings to react for or against proposals that their corner of the world become a nuclear-free zone or a zone of peace;

^{*} At the UN, these nations are officially referred to as 'socialist' rather than 'communist'.