XV.

Protocol left open to Countries represented for signature and accession.

The Protocol remains open to those countries whose representatives have to-day signed only the Convention, or only a certain number of the Agreements drawn up by the Congress, in order to permit them to accede to the other Agreements signed this day, or to one or other of them.

XVI.

Period for the notification of accessions.

The accessions referred to in Articles XVI and XV must be notified diplomatically by the respective Governments to the Government of the French Republic, and by it to the other States of the Union. The period allowed to the said Governments for this notification will expire on the 1st of July, 1948.

XVII.

Protocol left open to Countries temporarily precluded from acceding to the Convention and the Agreements.

- 1. Spain, Morocco (Spanish Zone) and the whole of the Spanish Colonies, temporarily precluded from acceding to the Convention and the Agreements in consequence of a decision of the XIIth Universal Postal Congress taken in conformity with a resolution of the General Assembly of the United Nations of the 12th December 1946, may accede to these Acts, without submitting to the formalities prescribed by Article 3, as soon as that resolution is repealed or becomes objectless.
- 2. Germany, Japan and Korea, temporarily precluded from acceding to the Convention and the Agreements may accede to these Acts, without submitting to the formalities prescribed by Article 3, when the time is considered opportune by the responsible authority.
- 3. The accessions mentioned in §§ 1 and 2 must be notified diplomatically by the Governments concerned to the Government of the French Republic and by it to the other States of the Union.

In faith whereof, the undermentioned plenipotentiaries have drawn up the present Protocol which shall have the same force and validity as if its provisions were inserted in the text itself of the Convention, and they have signed it is it in a single copy which shall remain in the Archives of the Government of the French Republic and of which a copy shall be delivered to each party.

Done at Paris, the 5th of July, 1947.

(For the list of the signatory countries, see page 30)