At the General Assembly of the province of Nova-Scotia, begun and holden at Halifax, on Thursday the third day of February, 1859, in the twenty-second year of the reign of our sovereign lady Victoria, by the grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, Queen, defender of the faith, &c., &c., &c., being the fourth session of the twenty-first General Assembly convened in the said province.*

 In the time of His Excellency The Earl of Mulgrave, Lieutenant-Governor; Edward Kenny, president of the Legislative Council; Stewart Campbell, speaker of the Assembly; Charles Tupper, provincial secretary; and Alexander James, clerk of Assembly.

CHAPTER 1.

An Act for the better Equalizing the Elective Franchise in certain Counties.

(Passed the 30th day of March, A. D. 1859.)

SECTION.

- 1. Representation of Lunenburg, Annapolis, Digby, Cumberland, Richmond, and Cape Breton, to be by Counties only. Counties returning 3 Members. Counties returning 2 Members. Right to vote for Township Members abolished.
- 2. Counties divided into two divisions each sending two Members. Exception.
- 3. Halifax-names of divisions. Western defined-number of Members. Eastern defined-number of Members.
- 4. Hants-names of divisions Polling districts Nos. 7 and 8 altered. Northern defined. Southern defined. No. ot Members.
- 5. Colchester-names of divisions -Northern defined. Southern defined. No. of Members.

SECTION.

- 6. Pictou-names of divisions. Western defined. Eastern defined. No. of
- 7. Kings-names of divisions. Line of division. Northern defined. Southern defined. No. of Members. Polling Districts. Nos. 3, 4, 5. No. 5 polling place. No. 12. Polling place. No. 6. Polling place. No. 13. Polling place. No. 10. Polling place. No. 11. Polling place.
- 8. Counties not to return Representatives except as before mentioned.
- 9. Inverness to return three Members.
- 10. Electors must vote in district where they reside.
- 11. House of Assembly-No. of Members. Qualifications, &c.
- 12. Writs how issued.

Whereas the privilege of returning members to the General Preamble. assembly is enjoyed unequally by the inhabitants of the counties of Halifax, Lunenburg, Kings, Hants, Annapolis, Digby, Cumberland, Pictou, Richmond, and Cape Breton, by reason of some portions of the electors being debarred the right which others exercise of returning township as well as county

members:

Be it therefore enacted by the Governor, Council, and Assembly, as follows:

of this province for the counties of Lunenburg, Annapolis, Annapolis, Digby, Cumberland, Richmond, and Cape Breton, shall, after bland, Richmond the expiration of the present House of Assembly, be by countained to the present House of Assembly, be by countained to the present House of Assembly, be by countained to the present House of Assembly, be by countained to the present House of Assembly, be by countained to the present House of Assembly to the presentation of the presentation of the presentation of Lunenburg, Annapolis, Digital to the presentation of the presentation of