III. OTHER COLLEGES AND SCHOOLS.

Albert College was originally incorporated in 1857, under the title of "Belleville Seminary." (20 Vic. c. 184.) In 1861, as appears by an Instrument of Affiliation, dated 13th September, 1861, and laid before the Senate on the 4th October, 1861, the Governor in Council, pursuant to C. S. U. C., c. 62, s. 26, upon the application of its Board of Trustees, affiliated this institution to the University of Toronto. In 1866, its original name was changed to Albert College, and University powers in respect of degrees in Arts were conferred upon it, with the condition that its standards of qualification for such degrees should not be inferior to those of the University of Toronto. (29 and 30 Vic., c. 136.) The above Acts of 1857 and 1866 were varied by Acts passed in 1871 (34 Vic., c. 9), and in 1884 (47 Vic., c. 93). Under the latter Act its University powers were revoked; its graduates and undergraduates were incorporated into Victoria University, and it was, by sec. 8, affiliated to that University, and declared entitled in respect of such affiliation to two representatives on the Senate of Victoria University. The right of this college to representation on the Senate was conferred by the Act of 1873, and is continued by the present University Federation Act, R S.O., (1887), c. 230.

Ontario Agricultural College was established by the Legislature and Government of Ontario, in 1880, and is now managed under the provisions of R.S.O., 1887, c. 233. By sec. 10 of that Act, the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, as the governing body of the institution, "may agree with the University of Toronto for the affiliation of the said college with the University, but only to the extent of enabling the students of the said college to obtain at the examinations of the University such rewards, honors, standing, scholarships, diplomas or degrees in agriculture as the University may be allowed to confer." By Statute No. 189, passed on the 17th May, 1888, this college was affiliated to the University, and its right to representation on the Senate depends upon the state of the law regulating college representation on the Senate when the statute of affiliation was passed.

Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario was affiliated to the University by Statute No. 192, passed on the 25th May, 1888, and its right to representation on the Senate depends upon the law then in force.

School of Practical Science was established by the Legislature and Government of Ontario in 1873, and is now managed under the provisions of R.S.O., 1887, c. 232. By sec. 10 of that Act the Lieutenant-Governor in Council "may affiliate the school with the University, but only to the extent of enabling students of the school to obtain at the examinations of the University such rewards, honors, standing, scholarships and degrees in science as the said University may be authorized to confer."

This school was affiliated to the University by Statute No. 208, passed on the 18th October, 1889, which provides "that the School of Practical Science be and the same is hereby affiliated with the University of Toronto, and entitled to representation in accordance with the provisions of the University Federation Act, R.S.O., (1887), c. 230."

Toronto College of Music was affiliated to the University by Statute No. 216, passed on the 21st May, 1890, and its right to representation is governed by the second clause, which is as follows: "That the said Toronto College of Music shall have the right of representation on the Senate so long as it remains unaffiliated with any other University."