March 21, 1983

COMMONS DEBATES

23993

Supply

Some Hon. Members: No.

• (1815)

[English]

Mr. Lewis: Madam Speaker, there have been discussions amongst House Leaders and I believe you will find that if you were to put the question on the first item and have the division recorded on that item, and then put items Nos. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 9, you will find there is a general disposition among the Parties to apply the division taken on item 1 to the subsequent six items, and that that division be recorded in Hansard on each of the items Nos. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 9. Thus Members will avoid having to rise that many times.

Madam Speaker: That will be very helpful.

The question is on motion No. 1. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Madam Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Madam Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Madam Speaker: In my opinion, the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Madam Speaker: We will dispense with the bells at all times

The House divided on the motion which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 305)

YEAS

Messrs

Campbell (Cardigan) Chénier Cyr Dion

Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Duclos Dupont Dupras Duquet Erola (Mrs.) Ethier Ferguson Fisher Fleming Flis Foster Fox Francis Frith Garant Gauthier

Neil Nickerson Nielsen Nystrom Oberle Ogle Orlikow Parker Patterson

Riis

Allmand Appolloni (Mrs.) Axworthy Bachand Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Beauchamp-Niquet (Mrs.) Bégin (Miss) Berger Blais Blaker Bloomfield Bockstael Bossy Breau Bujold Burghardt Caccia Campbell (Miss) (South West Nova) Campbell (Cardigan) Chénier Collenette Comtois Corbin Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Cullen Cyr Daudlin Dawson De Bané de Corneille Deniger Desmarais Dingwall Dion Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Duclos Dupont

Roche Rose Sargeant Schellenberger Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Shields NAYS Messrs

Messrs

Dupras Duque Erola (Mrs.) Ethier Ferguson Fisher Fleming Flis Foster Fox Francis Frith Garant Gauthier Gendron Gimaïel Gingras Gourd (Argenteuil-Papineau) Gourde (Lévis) Gray Guilbault Harquail Henderson Herbert Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.) Hopkins Hudecki Irwin Isabelle Ittinuar Johnston Joyal Kelly Killens (Mrs.) Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Landers Lang Laniel Lapierre Lapointe (Beauce) Leduc

Towers Vankoughnet Wright Young-105. Lefebvre Loiselle Lumley MacBain MacFachen MacGuigan Mackasey MacLellan Malépart Maltais Marceau Massé Masters McRae Munro (Hamilton East) Olivier Ostiguy

Ouellet

Parent

Pelletier

Penner

Peterson

Portelance

Prud'homme

(Kenora-Rainy River)

Pinard

Reid

Roberts

Rooney

Savard

Smith

Tessier

Trudeau

Turner

Watson

Tousignant

Weatherhead

Whelan-127

Tobin

Schroder Simmons

Rossi

Roy

Rompkey

Pepin

Skelly

Speyer Stewart

Thacker

Thomson

[Translation]

Madam Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

Motion negatived.

MOTION FOR CONCURRENCE IN VOTE 2c. DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND CORPORATE AFFAIRS

Hon. Herb Gray (President of Treasury Board) moved:

That Vote 2c, in the amount of \$816,400 under the Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs-Metric Commission-Operating expenditures, in the Supplementary Estimates (C) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1983, be concurred in

Madam Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Axworthy Bachand Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Beauchamp-Niquet (Mrs.) Bégin (Miss) Berger Blais Blaker Bloomfield Bockstael Bossy Breau Bujold Burghardt Caccia Campbell (Miss) (South West Nova)

Allmand

Appolloni (Mrs.)

Collenette Comtois Corbin Corriveau Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Cullen Daudlin Dawson De Bané de Corneille Deniger Desmarais Dingwall