The 53-member ITAC provides for an ongoing two-way flow of information and advice between the Government and the private sector on international trade matters. The ITAC complements the 15 SAGITs, which provide in-depth sectoral expertise. Taken together, they cover the full spectrum of Canadian economic activities and comprise more than 200 prominent individuals from the business, labour, environmental, academic, consumer, research and cultural communities. Members serve on a voluntary basis without remuneration.

The chairperson of each SAGIT is also a member of the ITAC. The full list of SAGIT members for the coming two years will be announced in the near future.

The Minister earlier announced that Marshall A. "Mickey" Cohen, President and Chief Executive Officer of The Molson Companies Limited, has succeeded Senator Trevor Eyton as Chairman of ITAC. Senator Eyton, Chairman of Brascan Limited, served as ITAC Chairman for the past three years.

Attached is a list of the members of the International Trade Advisory Committee, as well as background information on the International Trade Advisory Committee System.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874