The seven Chairmen of the Main Committees are elected on the following pattern:

- (a) three from the Afro-Asian group
- (b) one from the East European group
- (c) one from the Latin American group
- (d) one from the Western European and Other group
- (e) one to rotate every alternate year among representatives of groups (c) and (d)

The Main Committees are as follows:

FIRST COMMITTEE - Political and Security Committee (including the regulation of armaments)

SPECIAL POLITICAL - Special Political Committee (political committee)

Special Political Committee (political questions not discussed by the First Committee)

SECOND COMMITTEE - Economic and Financial Committee

THIRD COMMITTEE - Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee

FOURTH COMMITTEE - Trusteeship Committee
(including non-self governing territories)

FIFTH COMMITTEE - Administrative and Budgetary Committee

SIXTH COMMITTEE - Legal Committee

The General Assembly, as a rule, refers all questions on its agenda to one of the Main Committees, to a joint committee, or to an ad hoc committee established to consider the question. These committees then submit proposals for approval to a plenary meeting of the Assembly. Questions not referred to a Main Committee are dealt with by the Assembly itself in plenary meetings.

OTHER BODIES

In addition to the Main Committees, the General Assembly is assisted mainly by the following bodies:

(1) The General Committee, which is composed of the President, the seventeen Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, and the Chairmen of the seven Main Committees, is a kind of steering group which meets frequently during the year to recommend on the inclusion of items in the agenda, the allocation of an agenda item to Committee, and to supervise the smooth running of the Assembly's work;