## CHAPTER I—THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON DEFENCE

1. On June 7, 1963, the House of Commons appointed a Special Committee on Defence by adopting the following resolution:

"That a Special Committee be appointed to consider matters relating to defence and to report from time to time its observations and opinions thereon; that the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records and to examine witnesses; that it be empowered to adjourn from place to place; that Standing Order No. 67 be suspended in relation to the Committee; and that the Committee consist of 24 members to be designated by the House at a later date.

from SHAPE, Mr. Plerre Dupoy, Canadi Stew seibuts a'settlimuno.

2. On June 10, the House of Commons designated the 24 members of the Committee:

Messrs. Asselin (Notre-Dame-de-Grâce), Baldwin, Béchard, Brewin, Churchill, Deachman, Fairweather, Granger, Groos, Hahn, Lambert, Laniel, Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean), Lloyd, McInnis, MacLean, Martineau, Matheson, McMillan, Patterson, Sauvé, Smith, Temple and Winch.

During the course of its sittings the following members have also been appointed to the Committee: Messrs. Nielsen, McNulty, Plourde, MacRae and Horner (Acadia); the latter two presently serving on the Committee.

To prepare its sittings, the Committee appointed a Steering Subcommittee comprised of Messrs. Sauvé (Chairman), Lambert (Vice Chairman), Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean), MacLean (Queens), Temple and Winch.

3. The Special Committee on Defence held meetings, to receive information, from June 18, 1963, until December 11, 1963.

Meetings: In Canada — 29, including a meeting at NORAD Northern Region Headquarters at North Bay

In U.S.A. — 2, at NORAD Headquarters, Colorado Springs; and at Washington

In Europe — 14, including visits to the 4th Infantry Brigade and to No. 3 Wing, 1 Air Division, R.C.A.F.

TOTAL: 45

4. As the Committee undertook a detailed study of matters relating to defence in Canada, it was deemed advisable to call certain witnesses. These were:

Honourable Paul Martin, Secretary of State for External Affairs; Honourable Paul T. Hellyer, Minister of National Defence; Honourable Lucien Cardin, Associate Minister of National Defence; Honourable Charles M. Drury, Minister of Defence Production; Air Chief Marshal F. R. Miller, Chairman of Chiefs of Staff Committee; Vice Admiral H. S. Rayner, Chief of Naval Staff; Lt. Gen. G. Walsh, Chief of the General Staff; Air Marshal C. R. Dunlap, Chief of the Air Staff; Dr. A. H. Zimmerman, Chairman, Defence Research Board; Dr. J. E. Keyston, Vice Chairman, Defence Research Board; and Dr. G. S. Field, Chief Scientist.